The running paradox

8 Aug

Sooooo, not been up to much – truth be told – on the running front since I started my running blog.  Managed one run last week (in the rain) and kidded myself that because it was in the rain it counted for 3!  It is amazing how when I am not running everything – and I mean everything – feels so much harder, especially running!  My energy levels plummet and I convince myself that I am too tired to run even though I know that if I went on a run I would feel energised again.  This is the running paradox: An initial wave of energy is required to get off the sofa and outside but it is only after that first run that you get a wave of energy.  How irritating.  Plus, a token run once a week ain’t gonna cut it because everything aches, the experience is generally awful and I just feel knackered.  Unless I run at least 3 times a week I am not going to get anything out of it.  The magic only starts to happen when it becomes a habit – a habit of at least 3 times a week. 

So this is my challenge for the week:  To run for an hour at least 3 times between now and Sunday.  I have not managed more than 2 runs in any given week since I took up my trainers again after the twins.  I just haven’t got into the habit again and until I do I will continue to operate below par.  Ok, so its Monday and I’ve not managed a run today.  If I don’t get a run in tomorrow, I don’t stand a chance…

4 Responses to “The running paradox”

  1. Amy August 10, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    I am exactly the same – when I put off running/yoga because I am feeling run down and tired I inevitably get mored run down and tired. I have to commit to doing something as soon as the kids are in bed otherwise it’s game over. Haven’t quite managed to get up an hour before them and squeeze my workout in then although again, were I to I am sure the rest of my day would go more smoothly. Is frustrating!

    • gritdoctor August 11, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

      Thanks for your comment. I haven’t managed the early run either, but you are right – just imagine how great our day would look if we did?

  2. mummywalker August 11, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    It’s so frustrating. I’ve been running really well for the last couple of months but my energy levels are through the floor at the moment. Yet my head still wants to run. The mind is willing but the body doesn’t seem to want to bother. I’m blaming a virus. It’s got to be a virus. Um…..

    • gritdoctor August 11, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

      Thanks for your comment – yes its so hard isn’t it? And yet never have I needed running in my life more than I do right now. Get well and get running!

Leave a Reply

