Clean and Serene

1 Sep

This is shaping up to be a very good week. Pain au raisin free thus far, (although I did have one on Sunday which I picked up in Salisbury’s Cafe Nero en route to a christening in Somerset). Not as good as the ones in the Muswell Hill branch though, altogether less crispy on the outside and not as perfectly formed, but nonetheless pretty delicious…

This means I am 4 days clean which is the longest period I have managed since our move here in February.

As for the running, I am managing my thrice weekly run and have increased the lapage to 3 this week (I am guessing that 1 lap of Highgate woods is 1 mile). I must confess its still bloody hard. My run on Tuesday was the first run I’ve had since the twins when I went into any kind of ‘zone’ – and it was pretty shortlived – but tonight I felt like a lead weight the whole way round and at no stage did my body stop aching. Feeling pretty good now though. Having set out wanting to pass out with tiredness, I have been bouncing round the kitchen since I got back doing all sorts of boring chores with relative ease. Amazing how the act of simply going on a run can have such a postive impact on my behaviour thereafter.

One more run to go this week (O has two).

2 Responses to “Clean and Serene”

  1. TheUrbanMum September 2, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    Hello , I live on the other side of the world in Australia. I exercise EVERY day, at the gym. It doesn’t do a lot for my butt. Only running does that. Oh and not shoving in food… I find running a challenge, not really built for it. I did a marathon before kids – so it has been done. I am going to follow you – fuelled by your efforts.x

    • gritdoctor September 2, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

      Hi there, and thanks! Just checked out your blog but can’t work out how to follow it (I am very new to this social media malarky). However, I think I have successfully followed you on twitter…I love Sydney, we were there in 2009, fantastic city. I recall that the food was sinfully good. I find since having kids I have lost all self-control in the food department, having previously been relatively healthy. I grab whatever whenever and eat much more junk than before. Which is why running is now so essential…

Leave a Reply

