Stress-free Crimbo

29 Dec

I have definitely enjoyed the most stress-free Christmas I can remember, and, bearing in mind we have twin sons aged 15 months and my parents are holidaying in South Africa (usually a great source of help)! this is no mean feat.  One obvious reason for this lack of stress is because we spent it with O’s family who are all uber-relaxed (unlike mine). But I am convinced the main reason is that I have been out running most days.  The incredibly mild weather has made for ideal running conditions, and any excuse to get away from the twins for an hour is incredibly motivating (even a run is like a break or so I have convinced myself).  I would be lying if I didn’t admit that the prospect of my book – Run Fat Bitch Run – launching on the 5th Jan has also propelled me outdoors when I might otherwise be glued to the sofa, as I feel strongly that I must practise what I preach.  Consequently, I had always planned to run through Christmas and to be honest I thought it was going to be a total nightmare:  No time; too much eating and drinking to do; too tired; too rude, the list of potential excuses is infinite.  Plus, I tried to run last Christmas (remember how cold it was)? when the twins were just 3 months old and it nearly killed me.  This time however – a year on and a good 6 months into running regularly again – it could not have been more of a pleasure.  On Christmas day, I was in heaven in Highgate woods (which I had all to myself), and the on the 27th, I managed 10k in under an hour for the first time in years.  I felt incredible.   

I will be running on the treadmill tonight and back in the woods tomorrow and the first thing I will do on New Years Day to welcome it in?  RUN and contemplate all that I want to get out of 2012.  Nowhere on my list will be pledges to lose weight or get fit.  I am just the right size and feel fit as a fiddle already because I am in the habit of running at least 3 time a week which is all the diet and exercise I need.

3 Responses to “Stress-free Crimbo”

  1. zarstar December 29, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Wow! Very inspiring! I started running a couple of years ago but haven’t been for a proper run for over a year as a) winter happened and b) I’ve had a few health issues including radiotherapy and have put on 4-5 stone! I’ve just ordered your book as I feel I’m ready to start running and really want to get into it again, and lose weight! I too live very close to Highate Woods (Muswell Hill) but am a bit nervous about running in the woods so stick to the road.
    I look forward to reading your book and will hopefully be back into a routine v soon! ;o))

    • gritdoctor December 29, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

      Hi there, it is lovely running in the woods in the summer but definitely a bit scary at the moment! Come along to the launch party on the 5th Jan in the Muswell Hill Bookshop at 6.30-8pm if you live nearby and fancy it. Sounds like you’ve had a hell of a year. Getting started again is always the hardest bit, but you will find it easy once you’ve read the book I promise. I hope 2012 is a healthy and happy year for you. With love, Ruth x

      • zarstar December 30, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

        Thank you Ruth. Yes, I’ll definitely come to the launch, you must be so excited! Yes, I’m determined that 2012 will be the year of health and fitness ;o)
        See you next week. Happy New Year!
        Phelisia x

Leave a Reply

