Twinless for a day

30 Dec

So, I had my first day and night with just one of the twins (I’m still enjoying it now actually as I write).  O went to buy a car yesterday – trading in our beloved and battered Clio for something more appropriate to ferrying gigantic twin sons around. I still have no idea what he has got. I just hope it has 4 doors and is not some awful colour!  Anyway, the plan was for O to take S to his mum and dad’s for the afternoon to give me some ‘quality time’ with R but the whole car part-exchanging business took until 8pm!! by which time S was fast asleep at Granny Pips, so O decided to crash with them. Now, I don’t mean to offend those parents of one baby in saying this because goodness knows whatever I’d had I would have found it hard. But that being said, WOW, when all you know is twins and you get a sneaky peak at life with one it is just another world (I’ve no doubt the mother of triplets who has two for the day finds it a breeze in much the same way)…Where do I begin? Bath-time and bed-time was a JOYFUL experience where not once did either of us wail and scream. I was able to keep on top of the tidying as I went along. I did not feel the need to collapse in a heap once R was settled in bed or reach for the gin.  I did not fret during the night when he woke.  I slept deeply.  I’m writing a blog now whilst R plays with a car at my feet and I wrote one yesterday while he napped. The house doesn’t look like the aftermath of the siege of Sarajevo. We still have enough milk for me to have a coffee. I am able to make myself one – and drink it. I will even be able to take a shower, dress myself and R without feeling I need medication just to get through the experience. There is just nothing about looking after one baby that bears any resemblance to coping with twins, because its not like ‘just having another one’. Twins share a special (and oftentimes demented bond); they fight like cats, they scream, they egg each other on, they are constantly vying for my attention and love, in short they are exhausting on every level. Am I looking forward to O an S returning later this morning? I would be lying if I didn’t admit to wanting to stretch this experience out for a little bit longer…

6 Responses to “Twinless for a day”

  1. Barbara Fox December 31, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Hello Ruth, you must be really excited that your book is about to be published. I look forward to reading it – let’s see if you can turn me into a runner! – and wish you lots of success and a happy and healthy 2012.

    • gritdoctor January 2, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

      Thank you! I am very excited and nervous too. Let me know how you get on with the running and HNY! X

  2. mrscow March 24, 2012 at 3:53 am #

    Hi from NZ Ruth, just bought the book & found the blog, hence the very late comment…

    As the mother of a singleton (eldest) & twins this post made me smile. I remember the mothers at the multiple birth club who had twins first & then went on to have a singleton commenting on how easy it was to have just one baby, and wondering what on earth mothers with just one were on about 🙂 We were hermits for the first 12 months after 2 ones arrived – it was exhausting!

    I guess it is what ever your reality is huh, as there are many mothers of just one who don´t make it out of their jammies. Now the twins are 9 & the eldest 12……. when there is only one at home it is bliss & unbelievably easy, but I wouldn´t change it for the world.

    • gritdoctor March 25, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

      yes, it is completely exhausting in a way that mothers with singles will never fully comprehend. ours are 18 months now and full of testosterone! i am just hoping my back will last till they are fully mobile! are yours boys/girls/mixture? ours are non identical boys. they are starting to make me laugh though now and saying the odd word which has made a huge difference to me, seeing a glimmer of what is to come….thanks for getting in touch. i really hope we come back to NZ, the boys would LOVE it x

  3. mrscow March 24, 2012 at 3:59 am #

    Hi from NZ Ruth, I have just bought your book & found the blog, hence the very late comment 🙂

    I remember mums in the multiple birth club who had twins first & then went on to have a singleton making comments around how easy one baby was 🙂 Our singleton was first so twins were hard – we were hermits for the first 12 months – it was exhausting….. now when there is only one child at home it is bliss. 2 ones have been on school camp this last week – it was so quiet at home, I too found myself wanting camp to last an extra day 😉 but it was wonderful to have them all home.

  4. hazeydazeblog January 3, 2013 at 3:58 am #

    Hey Ruth
    I totally agree with you! We started with one kid…and then got a buy one get one free option second time around and now have a Mr 4, Mr 2 and Miss 2! I love them to death but can totally relate to how two the same age act totally differently to having ‘just another one’. They fight like you wouldn’t believe (hair pulling and slapping all appropriate behaviour according to them)…and then Mr 4 decides that it would be cool to be a Mr 2 again as well….mayhem is a good word to define our home!
    I came across your book about 2 months ago…and didn’t think I needed anymore motivation than time out from my three to get me out running…but you had me in stitches and also introduced me to that wonderful inner b1tch that gaily reminds me (in her most pleasant voice) whenever I start making excuses that the only run i’ll regret is the one i don’t do!
    So thank you! I am tentaively beginning to blog as an outlet for my thoughts, feelings, ideas and as a sanity check from life with three…thanks for the inspiration, motivation and for waking up my beautiful inner b1tch!

Leave a Reply

