Fashionably Gritty

1 Jan

Went for what started out as a run in almost perfect conditions: still, mild, overcast and ended up as a run through pouring rain and biting wind!  What a way to start the year – in truly GRIT-TASTIC fashion.   I spent most of my hour long run thinking about what the article in the Times 2 tomorrow is going to be like.  Will it be positive  about me and Run Fat Bitch Run or will it paint me and the book as completely deranged?  Helen Rumbelow did, after all, say to me that anyone who calls themselves a ‘Fat Bitch’ must be psychotic!  I had not really thought of it in that way to be honest.  It is supposed to be funny, and most importantly, motivational.  I just hope that she ‘gets’ me and the message of Run Fat Bitch Run – which is essentially, that we should all stop bullshitting ourselves, and with a sense of humour haul our fat arses off the sofa and get MOVING…

On that very subject, I am so proud of O.  When I joined the gym I got loads of free passes as part of the deal (in the hope it would encourage O to go) but today was the first time he has expressed any interest in using them.  I was so over-excited, practically lacing up his trainers and pushing him out of the door the moment he mentioned it!  Only for him to return minutes later saying it was closed.  Of course, its New Years Day.  ARRRRGGGHH!  So, I gingerly suggested going for a short run outdoors instead.  He said that was exactly what he had planned to do anyway, and after dumping his stuff on the kitchen table off he went straight back out of the door.  Since his return and mine, he suggested we do the same thing tomorrow afternoon when the twins are napping:  Music to the grit doctor’s ears…

2 Responses to “Fashionably Gritty”

  1. Louise Coe January 2, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Hello there from a fellow deranged Mum of twins! I have just finished your book ( iBooks ) and you have nothing to worry about! It is fabulous, and just what us fat b!tches need. It made me laugh out loud so much, especially regarding the delusions and struggles with the twins. Mine are 14 now, identical boys, it does get easier. I started running again in September after at least a 10 year break, at first I became addicted, but lately I was losing motivation ( making excuses ) and your book has re-introduced me to my inner bitch, thank you so much!
    I hope you have a wonderful 2012, enjoy your boys they don’t stay little for long!
    Take care,
    Louise

    • gritdoctor January 2, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

      Hi Louise, That is so reassuring – thank you so much for taking the time to tell me you enjoyed the book!. Wow, 14 year old twin sons – thats amazing. Do you have any other children?!?! I know I shouldn’t wish the time away but I can’t help it sometimes! Let me know how you get on with the running and thanks again for getting in touch. Have a fantastically fit healthy and happy 2012..

      x

Leave a Reply

