Times 2

2 Jan

Felt like a complete idiot today.   I jumped out of bed this morning and ran to the newsagents to buy 5 copies of the Times, then dashed into Planet Organic for a coffee and sat outside in the morning sun to read ALL ABOUT MYSELF AND RUN FAT BITCH RUN.  It was not to be.  Nowhere in the paper (I even checked the obituaries, such is the thoroughness of the GD) was there even a mention of RFBR, let alone a feature about the book.  I kept dropping my expectations lower and  lower until I was looking at the tinsiest little sections about anything to see if the words Ruth Field or Run Fat Bitch Run were printed anywhere…

O was waiting expectantly at home and laughed his head off when I told him.  He said – much much better if the article runs from tomorrow when everyone is back at work and more people will read it.  He has a point.  I really hope it is in tomorrow as the suspense is killing me!

5 Responses to “Times 2”

  1. Archie January 2, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Good luck Roodie….. just had a very enlightening read about what’s been going on. Amazing that you’ve managed to write and (almost) launch a book while raising twins – we’ve got 4 years between ours and full time help and my respect for what you must have gone through is unbounded

    good luck with the party. don’t get too wild 🙂

    • gritdoctor January 2, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

      archie, so lovely to hear from you. to be honest looking after the twins full-time is INTENSE and i am still not through to the other side yet – but its getting better all the time. plus i wrote the book on a ‘gap’ year before i had the little shits. when am i going to see you again? x

  2. Luda January 3, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Love your book, just finished it!!! Mapped out my route, can’t wait to start!! Thanks for the voice !!!

  3. Rebecca January 3, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    I read the article in T2 this morning by chance so I’m glad it was delayed. Book sounds good, and the article made you sound nice, fret not. As a naturally ‘skinny b!tch’ I found your website header less appealing… But, as I’ve signed up for a marathon later this year I may give the book a try anyway. Skinny people need motivation too… 😉 Hope it all goes well for you, and good luck with the twins!

  4. Rachel January 3, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Hi Ruth

    I bought your book from Amazon for Kindle (nobody bought me a Kindle for Xmas unfortunately, although like I asked… have the free Kindle reading app on my laptop;) and read it the other night in bed after a few Jack Daniels’ and coke (diet, I know, I know its evil stuff). The book is HILARIOUS 🙂 Have mapped my route and am waiting for my personal trainer (OH) to stop being ill with a man cold and take me out (I am too scared to go alone;). But I WILL be going this week. I promised myself that.

    I HAVE however started shouting FAT BITCH! at myself every time I think about chocolate or wine, which amuses OH and my sons greatly. Luckily I am alone in the office this week due to other staff holidays, so nobody yet has heard me doing it today…

Leave a Reply

