Treadmill running

3 Jan

So, chuffed to bits with the piece in the Times 2 today and completely gobsmacked to be on the front cover of The Times. I wish my parents could see it (they are alive, but in South Africa on safari – I know, its alright for some)…

To celebrate, I went to the gym with O (first time for him, hugely proud) and we did 5kms together on the treadmill side by side. It was great actually as we chatted the whole way through so the time passed quickly for a change. I usually find that the treadmill is the only place where time actually passes more slowly than when I am home alone with the twins. I was amazed O managed 5kms first off, although he did look as though he might die of a heart attack at the end. Anyway, a great start to 2012 from team Weetch and thank God O has found his inner bitch because its race day on the 21st Jan..

Just in case you think I am a total loser we are going out tonight for a slap up dinner and a movie. Can’t wait…

7 Responses to “Treadmill running”

  1. Guu January 3, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    Ruthie!!! Amazing amazing amazing A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. I’m so proud of you and even more proud of Olly for going to the gym – that really is a miracle. All this grit has inspired me to run off the 10 tons of tapas I have consumed over the last few days in sunny Barcelona. Happy days all around. Will save a copy for mum and dad xxxxxxxx you’re amazing xxxxxx

  2. aireynotfairy January 4, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    Hubby left copy of Times2 on the chair for me last night when I arrived home from work at 10.15! Copy downloaded onto kindle and first required chapters read by 12am.

    Route mapping taking place in 2 minutes, 4 miles begins tonight.

    Trouble is I know I can do it as I’ve done Great North Run twice and then got out the habit. Must practice inner grit doctor!

    Thank you for this book. Hugely motivation and talking my language!

  3. Sarah Moore January 4, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    Pre-ordered the book for my Kindle so it arrived on the 1st January. Think it’s brill. Have signed up for the Great West Run on 6th May and can only run about 5 km at the mo. Lots of work to do so hopefully (Achilles willing!) I can do it – you have certainly inspired me. Fantastic!

  4. K January 5, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    Dear Ruth,

    I was inspired by the article in the Times and ordered a copy of the book on my Kindle.
    Always exercised a bit, but never really learned to run properly but the last few months have got out of the habit.

    After reading the first few chapters the night before last. I went out last night for my 4 mile walk, took about 40 mins, in the dark with wind and heavy rain. I felt fabulous as I reached the half way point. Still have a slight niggle in my upper thigh, the reason I got out of the habit in the first place but I powered on, slowing down at points where it hurt more.

    Anyhow, I am dreaming of the days when I can complete the circuit running!!

    Thank you so much for getting my bum of the sofa!!

    If Obama can find the time, my number one excuse, so can I.

    Hope you enjoyed your night out.

    • gritdoctor January 5, 2012 at 10:18 am #

      Hi Kelly,
      Thanks for this lovely message – it really inspired me this morning. Well done for getting off the sofa!! Let me know how you get on..

      • K January 7, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

        Hi Ruth,

        Finished my third quick walk/run this morning around the beautiful park near home.

        Unfortunately, I can only do this at the weekend in daylight as there are no lights in the evening.

        I am a criminal barrister also and so spend my daylight hours trapped in an office and or court.

        Anyhow, I have completed my circuit for after work now twice and once round the park.

        Feeling great if a little sore in the muscles that haven’t been used in some time!

        My favourite part of my circuit is the half way point which is the entrance to the local leisure centre, I always have a complete woo- hoo moment.

        So far I have recommended your book to at least 5 people.

        Long may the inspiration continue!

      • gritdoctor January 8, 2012 at 9:18 am #

        Hi Kelly,

        Well done on getting started and sticking with it! Running helps so so much with being a criminal barrister – I really think it improves your advocacy and definitely helps with the nerves (if you suffer from that). You are really going to love it once you have nailed your circuit and it becomes second nature. Keep me posted and congratulations on such a great start to 2010..

        Ruth x

Leave a Reply

