Guest post from The Grit Doctor’s editor

18 Jan

It’s now only five days until Team RFBR* competes in the Maxifuel 5km Fun Run at Dorney Rowing Lake in Windsor. If you’d asked me two months ago if the words ‘fun’ and ‘run’ belonged in the same sentence, I would have done my very best eye-roll at you . . . while reaching for another biscuit. And to be honest, I’m still not convinced that they are natural sentence-mates, even now. As The Grit Doctor says, running is not fun. Expecting it to be fun, or expecting to enjoy it, is a major potential pitfall for any beginner. I couldn’t agree more.

                Having said that, I am looking forward to our race on Sunday. I know that while I might not exactly enjoy the running part, I will enjoy remembering that two months ago I could no sooner run five kilometres than climb Mount Everest. And I will enjoy sitting down to eat a Sunday roast with my teammates afterwards, knowing that we thoroughly deserve it. (And pudding, too.) Most of all, I will enjoy a feeling of quiet satisfaction, of knowing that in training for and running this race – short(ish) as it may be – I have beaten a personal demon. I can run. I can exercise. It is not something I am constitutionally unable to do. Even if I fall off the running wagon in the future, I will always know that I can do it. And for someone like me, who has never really recovered from the emotional scars inflicted during PE lessons, that is no small potatoes.

                Now, it’s true to say that my conversion to running has rather unusual roots. As I’ve written here before, I really had no choice but to get into my trainers and practise what The Grit Doctor preaches, and I appreciate that not everyone is lucky enough to have Ruth on hand to offer bespoke advice and encouragement. If it wasn’t for Ruth joining us on our Team RFBR training runs and telling us that we could, in fact, manage 4.5km at lunch through gale-force winds, then I doubt I’d be feeling so relaxed about Sunday. She really is a marvel. But you don’t need to have Ruth with you in person to get the benefit of the RFBR message. I’m delighted that the Grit Revolution is starting gain momentum and we’ve all been so moved by the amazing messages Ruth has received from readers of all ages, sizes and fitness levels, telling her all about their running adventures. From people like me who’ve never run before and are starting out on the Six-Step Programme, to former runners who’ve hit Motivation Meltdown and needed a kick up the arse to get going again, Ruth’s words of wisdom are really hitting home and making a difference. I couldn’t be more proud.

                So I’d like to say a big thank you, from all of us here at Little, Brown, to everyone who has supported Run Fat Bitch Run. And I’d like to wish my fellow Team RFBR members the best of luck for Sunday and to say an extra special thanks to them for wearing their lurid RFBR t-shirts so uncomplainingly. You’re all stars. xx

*Team RFBR is made up of a brave crew of runners – including many beginners – from Little, Brown Book Group, the LAW Agency and, of course, The Grit Doctor and O.

3 Responses to “Guest post from The Grit Doctor’s editor”

  1. Kelly January 18, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Well Ruth, and Editor,

    Hope your run goes well this weekend.It sounds gorgeous next to a lake.

    I have kept good company with the Grit Doctor, completing my circuit again last night. I would not have believed a few weeks ago that I would be out running almost 20 miles a week.

    So happy with my new fitness levels and my new found enthusiasm for getting stuff done has entered other areas of my life. I am sleeping better, working better, and generally feeling more content. Thank you Ruth for your continued inspiration!

    Kelly

    • gritdoctor January 18, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

      what a lovely message – thank you. very inspiring for me to read that. stick with it and you won’t regret it.x

  2. MrsG January 19, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    The second half of the second paragraph just completely sums up exactly how I feel (“I have beaten a personal demon. I can run. I can exercise. It is not something I am constitutionally unable to do. Even if I fall off the running wagon in the future, I will always know that I can do it. And for someone like me, who has never really recovered from the emotional scars inflicted during PE lessons, that is no small potatoes”).

    From the moment I read The Grit Doctor’s advice in the Times, everything made perfect sense – “You may never actually enjoy running” “Running requires effort every time” – as soon as I accepted that there’s been no stopping me. Ruth – thank you so much!!!

Leave a Reply

