EIRE

31 Jan

I am having a bit of an Ireland moment.  I love that the Irish seem to have taken Run Fat Bitch Run in exactly the spirit it was intended and I love hearing from all the Irish women and men, who have now taken to the streets, including Tom Dunne who interviewed me a few weeks back.  My mother is half Irish and my goodness me does she know about GRIT.  If my ‘grit’ came from anywhere, my Irish grandmother must be the source (ooh, having said that, my South African Grandmother is pretty formidable too, more about her in another post perhaps)!  My Irish Grandparents had 10 children including twins, coming in (or out might be more apt) at numbers 2 and 3 (my mum was number 5).   Grandma had absolutely no time for whingeing even though she had it pretty hard.  I never heard her complain about anything, she had a wicked sense of humour and was almost always giggling about something or other.  Bearing in mind those were the days of no washing machines etc etc. the mind boggles as to the amount of grit she had to wade through on a daily basis.  I often wish she were still alive so I could whinge with her about how gritty bringing up twins is, although given that she went on to have 7 further children, she obviously found it a lot easier than me.   I bet she would have had some fantastic no-nonsense-type advice to impart. 

My first boyfriend was also from Mayo and lived next door to my grandparents and we had one of those brilliantly magical summer romances, filled with discoveries: predominantly getting blind drunk and me learning to play pool (to an exceptionally high standard I might add).  So my memories of Ireland are wonderful childhood ones, filled with mischief – climbing out of my bedroom window in the dead of night and running wild.  We went to confessions and Mass – a lot, but the one thing NO-ONE did where my family came from was exercise.  It was from memory considered extremely wierd even to go out walking, the looks my mother used to get when she went off on one of her epic ‘rambles’ – Grandma was always so embarrassed about who might see her ‘crazy’ daughter out ‘walking’!  No doubt things have changed a great deal since then and I would love nothing more than to come back and see that incredible countryside again, this time I hope, peppered with the odd runner..

8 Responses to “EIRE”

  1. Lindy Mooney January 31, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    Hiya,

    Just wondering if you’ll be having a competition to win them fab t shirts that Irish fans can enter?

    Lindy

    • gritdoctor February 1, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      I am trying to sort something out and will keep you posted!

  2. Marina February 1, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    You can thanks Ray D’Arcy for the Irish interest! I first heard you on his radio show and he advocates the book at least once a week! He’s a keen runner himself and is organising 5 5k runs around the country soon!

    • gritdoctor February 1, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      What a legend. I will try and get hold of him to say thanks!

  3. Brian February 1, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Just finished your book during my second sitting…..so inspired after the first half of the book i was up at the crack of dawn this morning running like a spanner in -2degrees of balmey Irish weather……great story keep up the good work……i heard you on Ray as well…..cheers Brian

    • gritdoctor February 2, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      Hi Brian, thanks for the message and well done on getting started especially in such brutal weather conditions. keep it up and let me know how you get on….

  4. Suzy Johnston February 2, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Hi Ruth
    So inspired by dipping into your book in Waterstones! that I have bought it for myself, but am giving it to my husband whose birthday it is tomorrow. We will go off running independently, but hopefully both get the bug from your book. We are both lapsed runners, well never having really been runners very much actually. Could you send him a birthday greeting. He would be so thrilled!

    • gritdoctor February 3, 2012 at 11:34 am #

      So glad you like the book and very chuffed you bought it for your husband – I certainly wrote it with my husband very much in mind! HAPPY BIRTHDAY MR JOHNSTON. Hope you have amazing day. Run fat bitch run! With love from The Grit Doctor

Leave a Reply

