The Gritdoctor’s Guide to making you less of a fat b!tch: Week 6

10 Feb

Snow. It seems to be everywhere. Depending on which part of the country you live in, it might be a thin layer of ice or deep enough to bury your trainers in. We’re not saying you should use this as an excuse not to go running – if people can make it into work, I’m hoping you can follow their well-trodden route – but please do take care. Slipping on black ice and breaking an ankle is not part of the RFBR routine.

This week is all about keeping up the pace and powering through any pain you might feel. Ruth prefers to run in silence, but a lot of people find listening to an iPod can be a brilliant source of inspiration. If you’ve got any favourite running tunes, please do let us know your favourites in the comments below.

Have a great weekend!

14 Responses to “The Gritdoctor’s Guide to making you less of a fat b!tch: Week 6”

  1. Alison Jennings February 10, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    I love running to my ipod and find that I run faster with than without. I love Faithless Insomnia, Sandstorm by Darude and anything by Calvin Harris. Really motivating tunes. I wouldn’t normally listen to this, but running music I have found is very different to the usual sounds you may like to listen to! Loving the RFBR book and Grit Dr – who is well and truly in my ear now!

  2. Helen Farrell February 10, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    One of the best tracks to listen to Ive found is workout mix 2012. All the songs run into each other so there’s no stop in beat and it’s popular songs so you can sing along 🙂

  3. katie allisette February 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    I tend to run without music. That hour is mine and I listen to my body, true me time 🙂

  4. Kate February 11, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    101running songs from iTunes is great. Just started fat bitch circuit and jogged whole way inspired by seminal works such as the Eye of the Tiger et al!

  5. kim kelly February 12, 2012 at 7:30 am #

    Me too. Faithless- Insomnia.

  6. Kirsty Baxter February 12, 2012 at 8:04 am #

    Re running music list – how about Groove Armada’s ‘If Everybody Looked the Same’

  7. Louise Averre February 22, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    black and white town by the doves, really good to run to! Footloose too

  8. betsymaxwell13 April 6, 2012 at 12:13 am #

    Just discovered your blog from Australian Shape Magazine and bought your book on kindle. Very excited to read it as I think I share your views on how running keeps you mentally tough for all other areas of life – an idea that I have a real passion for exploring further. I shared your blog on my blog (betsymaxwell.com) – hope you don’t mind.
    have a great run tomorrow.

    • gritdoctor April 6, 2012 at 11:28 am #

      thanks very much, hope you enjoy the book, im going to check out your blog now!

  9. Susan April 6, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Loved your book which I picked up at Dublin airport and had read by the time I got to Heathrow ! I started running 10 months ago and am already doing 10Ks and started exactly how you suggest (by doing Virginia Water 3 times a week – maybe I bumped into your mum !)… am struggling to get to the next level though so am now trying to 400m speed sessions. Great book thanks !

    • gritdoctor April 6, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      thats classic – you’ve got a great circuit there with vag waters! i will prob head out there on easter sunday for a run if you are around? only need to go to the next level if you really want to because what you are doing is a really great workout already…

  10. Pam Acevedo-White September 26, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    Six week program day 1. Hated it sooo much! But I’ll be out there again tomorrow.

  11. Pam Acevedo-White September 27, 2013 at 2:03 am #

    Day 2
    Sooo much better than day 1. Created a special run playlist last night and this morning I didn’t think about the run. Instead, I sang my way around, ran longer and more fun.

Leave a Reply

