Footloose and twin-free

18 Feb

I have just started the twins for two days a week with a local childminder called Lucie and I must confess it is the best thing I have ever done.  I get so excited as we near her house at the prospect of my twin-free day that I have to restrain myself from running with the buggy and arriving too early.  Another perk is that I just wheel the buggy through her front door, say goodbye and leave, so I am spared the ordeal of unpacking and settling them in.  Apparently, the twins dynamic is completely different when they are with her.  It would appear that they totally swap roles, the more ‘challenging’ twin for me is for Lucie and I quote, “the easiest baby I have EVER worked with”, and the one I find easier, I get the impression is more of a handful for her.  Interesting? yes, and more than just a little bit annoying…

The best bit of course is that I have two days in which to cram in something of a life outside of the twins which is going to be so much fun.  And lots of clear hours in which to write.  I have already imposed a strict NO HOUSEWORK rule, save for during the final half hour before I collect the boys when I run about the house trying to clean and tidy up and put a wash on in the manner of a woman possessed.  The reason for this domestic slackery is if I started any of these chores after I dropped the twins off,  I would still be doing them by the time it came to collect them – such are the levels of carnage left in the twins’ wake.  So instead, I drop them off, run home via the woods and sit down at my computer with a coffee and write.  Well at least that’s the plan – its all a bit theoretical at the moment being only week 2 but this new arrangement may have banished Sunday night blues forever for me.  I CANNOT WAIT for Monday morning which is not a line I thought I would ever write but I think I can safely say for me, Monday is going to be the new Friday (minus the binge drinking).

3 Responses to “Footloose and twin-free”

  1. Pamela February 18, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    I love love Mondays! Husband, children aged 21, 16 and 14 gone and I am free.

    Loved the book, I was a ‘runner’ but a but of a plodded. You have inspired me to push myself a bit harder, I am following your 10k plan, just finishing week 2. I have even set off in the rain!

  2. Kat February 18, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    What are you writing?!

    • gritdoctor February 18, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      not quite sure yet but will keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

