‘The Grit Clinic’ is open for business

27 Feb

Today I am launching ‘The Grit Clinic’, which is an agony aunt style weekly column in which the Grit Doctor will answer a couple of questions from you on any motivation-related issues you may have (as regards your diet or running or indeed any other area in which you feel the Grit Doctor might be able to help).  Bear in mind that the Grit Doctor is no fitness expert nor is she a real doctor.  Her profession is simply grit, but in this area she is without question the world’s leading authority.  So tweet me your questions using this: #askthegritdr and I will choose a couple and answer them on the blog each Monday.

The Grit Doctor says:

Sufficient grit is the vital component that is missing from our lives.  Learning to be grittier is what I can teach you. 

6 Responses to “‘The Grit Clinic’ is open for business”

  1. Pauline February 29, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    Had to order your book online as I don’t think it is available in NZ. Please get it here- there are a lot of fat bitches who need to read this book. I love it! I started running two years ago and still hate it but it works. I tell my friends the only reason I run is so I can eat and drink what ever I want. Thank you for the motivation.

    • gritdoctor February 29, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      thats odd as it should definitely be in all good bookshops in new zealand! have another look, ask around and let me know. so glad you enjoyed it and it has helped with your motivation. i keep a copy by my bed and it really helps motivate me!

  2. Susan March 5, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    I’m 37, nearly 13 stone and 5ft 4. Way too fat. I’ve tried the gym, and been at Weight Watchers for 15 years, then I thought, after 15 years shouldn’t I be thin by now? So I’ve been running for four weeks, and I was making it about half way before walking home, when I hurt my knee. It was a bit niggly the last few runs, but then it was painful to just walk. It is feeling better, but I don’t think I can run on it yet. In the mean time I’ve lost my mojo and all the diet thoughts are coming back…..help me Ruth, you’re my only hope.

    • gritdoctor March 6, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      i will answer your question in next monday’s grit clinic!

  3. Renee Notman March 5, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    I’d love to buy one of your tshirts but it doesn’t appear that shipping to Australia is an option?!

    I’ve been running for 8 weeks now and have finally reached 5kms. I have 4 boys and love getting out of the house without them or my mobile!

    I’m finding it hard to push past 5kms and now that I’ve read your book I think it’s because I need to run at least 5 days per week instead of the Mon Wed and Fri I’m doing now. Would doing the interval training be good for me now?

    Also…. Do you take any supplements? I take a women’s multi but think I’m low in iron. Also have an aching left knee after I run and think maybe glucosamine might help.

    • gritdoctor March 6, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      yes they do ship to australia, you just need to select the american flag for the us shop and that will ensure the teeshirt can be sent to australia. i will answer your question in the grit clinic next monday i promise! x

Leave a Reply

