Lent and the Wexford 10k

13 Mar

I am getting very excited now about my trip to Ireland on 20th April.  Truth be told, I am not sure how much of that excitement is due to:

a) Escaping from the twins and all my domestic responsibilities for an entire weekend for the first time ever;

b) Visiting Dublin – another first – and appearing on the telly! and signing copies of Run Fat Bitch Run at Easons (book signing is something I will never tire of doing);

c) Staying with the ever-lovely Mahers in Wexford and being cooked for by a Masterchef finalist (Pierce Maher) at least twice.  I am hoping for a suitable pre-match carb-fest and then a post-match culinary binge of epic proportions. 

Nowhere on my list is there mention of the Wexford 10k race which is the sole reason for my trip in the first place!  Well, as we all know, running is not fun and racing for the Grit Doctor is really not fun.  Why?  Because I will never win one. What I will enjoy hugely is the feeling I will have afterwards of having entered and completed it (and of course, the taste of my first celebratory beer). 

However, I have not been pushing myself at all with the training, preferring to stick to two gentle 5k and one even more gentle 10k run each week and I am really feeling them the next day in my legs, hips and back (just soreness you understand, no injury to speak of TG).  Anyway, it is time to crank it up a gear and so crank it up I will.  Given that it is Lent (the Grit Doctor loves Lent), I am making a mid-Lenten resolution to run 5 times a week between now and the Wexford 10k and at least one of those runs has to involve interval training (which I hate – making it perfect Lenten resolution material).  Ok, so there it is.  Declared on the blog.  In strictly traditional Lenten fashion, this translates into ‘I am giving up being a lazy bitch’.  I think God will approve…

7 Responses to “Lent and the Wexford 10k”

  1. Tina March 13, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Oh sounds like fun! Well good luck for the 10k I have mine on the 25th in Exeter x

  2. Irene March 15, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    I think you are great. I downloaded your book recently on my new kindle and up to this week have been out running, I am now up to 25 minutes without stopping (I am so delighted). As it happens I am in bed with a rotten gastric bug this week and would rather be running. I am also excited as I will hopefully get out next week and buy my first pair of running shoes. I have recommended your book to all my friends and actually anyone who will listen to me. I found it inspiring, funny, great tips and just an overall great read.

    Welcome to Dublin x

    • gritdoctor March 16, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      come along to easons on the 20th april in dublin and bring your book for me to sign! not sure which easons it is yet, will keep you posted. so glad you enjoyed it and hope you feel better soon

      • Fiona April 4, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

        A pity I only have an ebook version… can’t get it signed.

        Do you know which Easons you’re going to be in yet? Will rock along for some in the flesh, live grit doctoring 🙂

      • gritdoctor April 4, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

        Easons on O’Connell street from 6pm – look forward to seeing you there!

  3. Melanie March 20, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    Loved your book and am going to try and make your book signing. When is the 10k in Wexford? I’m from Wexford!! Have just started your eight week program, on day 3 week one but feeling very motivated, don’t think i’d be ready for a 10 k for some months tho’ as i’m starting off overweight and very unfit.

    • gritdoctor March 20, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      you could always walk it?! 22nd April is race day. hope to see you there, if not for the run, book signing afterwards in a hotel i think, will post details when i know them! looking forward to it and WELL DONE starting the programme x

Leave a Reply

