A run for all seasons

15 Mar

Just back from a beautiful run in Highgate woods.  Beautiful as in the weather and the woods, not the run itself.  As I ran I became completely absorbed in my surroundings, noticing all the little signs that spring has sprung and feeling very glad indeed that the snow, ice, bitter winds, rain and hail! are behind me for another year – at least I bloody well hope they are.  Running throughout the year has made me so much more in tune with the seasons in such a literal sense.  Best of all, the sheer grit of running through the hideous conditions of winter has been replaced with something approaching pleasure, so appreciative and grateful am I for the increases – however slight – in daylight and temperature, the lack of rain and wind, not to mention all the signs of new life emerging and being able to wear my RFBR tee sun hat and shades!  It seems so much easier to get into my trainers now, the ‘running dread’ of those winter months has gone and I am feeling quite smug about starting March fit and healthy rather than starting running (as I used to) in Spring from scratch and never really feeling in tip top condition for that bikini body come summer – not that I will probably wear a bikini again – but, I am toying with the idea of investing in some Lululemon running shorts and there is nowhere to hide in them let me tell you..

The Grit Doctor says:

Run throughout the year and come Spring-time, running will seem almost grit-free.

6 Responses to “A run for all seasons”

  1. Renee March 15, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Same feeling for me in Perth Western Australia. We’ve had some record high temperatures so I had to change my running routine to early mornings – still hot though.
    Now over the space of 5 days the weather has cooled down – and I was actually cold when I set out this morning! Makes for a much more enjoyable run. 🙂

  2. Una Simms March 18, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    starting to walk 2moro. 2 stone over weight. Couch potato. TotallY Lethargic and LAZY. GREAT book. Watch this space. Am terrified! Lol.

    • gritdoctor March 19, 2012 at 11:08 am #

      GOOD LUCK..may the grit be with you..

  3. cybill March 20, 2012 at 2:45 am #

    Hi Ruth, I bought your book a few months ago and have avoided reading it, incase it made me do something, like run.

    Then the other day I was visiting with my mother who has Parkinsons disease (not the Michael J Fox sort but the one that stops her body from moving). My mum had just bought a specialized exercise bike and it took her at least 20 minutes to get up from her chair and get onto it before she could even start pedalling. My 75 year old Parkinsons suffering mother exercises more than me – and she is so determined.

    I went home and read your book and started jogging straight away – I have begun!
    Thank-you so much for writing this book.

    • gritdoctor March 20, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      thank you so much for sharing this. it really moved me when i read it whilst walking the twins to the park this morning. i admire your mother’s courage and grit. do give her my best and well done you for taking those first steps yourself. inspiring stuff.x

  4. Megan March 20, 2012 at 4:12 am #

    was recommended your book the other day and flew through it in a few days.. lets just say I found it quiet amusing having my inner grit attack me for half the run, but on a plus.. I’ve never managed to run more than 1800m by myself (I can run 5km plus in a group) but the very day I finished your book I ran 4km by myself without stopping :):):)

Leave a Reply

