Sport with Style

23 Mar

I had such a lovely evening at Boutique Sport’s first ‘Sport with Style’ session last night and met a cracking bunch of ladies.  After listening to a brilliant talk from Polly, founder of genius clothes company ‘The Fold’,  I found myself wishing I was still a practising barrister just so I could strut my stuff in court in one of their uber stylish dresses.  If it were possible to create work clothes that manage to look sophisticated professional stylish cool quirky AND understated at the same time they have totally nailed the look.  Anyone who wants to up their work game, and feel smoking hot at their desk (in a good way), should buy one of these dresses (www.thefoldlondon.com).  After my talk and Q & A (with Personal Trainer Mollie Millington fielding the technical questions), it was delish cocktails, and I remained ensconced in chatting to some of the lovely women there and signing books (still my favourite past-time) until it was time to go home.   

Anyway, I wanted to say a big thank you to the girls at Boutique Sport for putting together such a great evening and to all the women and men who have been sharing with me since taking on Run Fat Bitch Run – and it really is an undertaking.  With each person that reads it, ‘gets’ it, starts jogging and tells me about it, I am moved and inspired all over again.  The most unexpected and delightful surprise for me about this book have been all the messages I keep getting back from you.  Sometimes when I am at a low ebb (usually twin-induced), I get a message from someone who has found their circuit, or signed up for their first 5k race, or managed their first 5 minute jog or just sharing the love and the grit in equal measure, sometimes making me laugh out loud!  It spurs me on when I sometimes feel like giving up or can’t be arsed to go running and its a wonderful thing – this online community of joggers urging each other on.  Another perfect day for it – a run that is, in case you have forgotten! – followed by Friday night shennanigans – whatever they may be…the ‘Hunger Games’ tonight at the cinema for me and O, I have a feeling the Grit Doctor is going to be all over this film…. 

A Grit Doctor realisation:
Success and inspiration shared only generates more of the same.

4 Responses to “Sport with Style”

  1. TheUrbanMum March 23, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    I share your posts on Facebook. My friend read one last week. After months of feeling like crap with little to no motivation, something you said struck a chord. The next day I got a message that she had gone for a run, and each day since.
    I’m getting up for mine soon. So you have spurred on a few chicks in Sydney Australia. Xx ps running in noosa is gorgeous isn’t it!

    • gritdoctor March 25, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

      thats great, thanks for telling me. LOVED running in Australia, dying to get back there..

  2. Elaine Beckett March 26, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Ruth – I read your book last week and have not stopped running since. All my non runner friends are getting for Christmas!! My 8 year old also did me proud yesterday running 3 miles for Sport Relief, an absolute star and a future fan of Run Fat Bitch Run

  3. Jackie April 3, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    I love your book. I’ve been thinking about running for 10 years, and finally got off the sofa and did so after reading your book. I am up to 30 minutes, 3 times a week. The Grit Doctor is totally inspiring! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

