Easter

6 Apr

So, its a fortnight till the Wexford 10k and I can’t tell you how excited I am to be running in it!  I have just ordered a new RFBR tee and black hoodie – will have to restrain myself from wearing them on the plane over to Dublin – mmmm, maybe that won’t actually be too difficult.

In the meantime, Easter week is proving to be the opposite of a holiday for me.  The childminder is on her holidays (well deserved I might add) so its just me and the twins and now O, TG.    We will be going to my parents tomorrow.  I made an executive deicision not to foist my mother’s Good Friday upon O and the twins (fasting, praying, church going, more fasting, no alcohol, no fun).  O is a committed atheist so, whilst this could have provided much amusement for me, perhaps its better just to show him the fun, happy, chocolatey side of a Catholic Easter.  When things get in any way tense, as they are bound to do with so many of us in the same house, I shall be off for a run and recommend you all do the same if you are having a big family affair of a weekend and want to avoid shouting at anyone..

I had such a lovely time again on the radio talking to Ray D’Arcy on Monday, and feel we are now having a radio-affair of sorts.  I think this 5ks in 5 days is such a brilliant idea, what a great way to get people inspired and involved in such a simple and fuss-free way of keeping fit and healthy.  I applaud his energy and enthusiasm and have no doubt it has been a huge success.  Maybe I will be invited to join in next year.

The Grit Doctor says:

Happy Easter, and when its not happy, RUN.  And then run again after the chocolate binge on Sunday.

14 Responses to “Easter”

  1. Roz April 6, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    I did the Sligo 5k with Ray this week after getting your book 6 weeks ago – best day ever! jogged the whole thing without stopping (although very slowly!) but considering i couldn’t run for 1min back in Feb I’m delighted with myself. THANK YOU for writing your book! I now love going out for my jog, which is still a bit shocking to me. I have recommended RFBR to anyone who’ll listen to me 🙂 now for a sequel could you write a book that would make me actually want to do housework 😉

    • gritdoctor April 6, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      thats wonderful – well done! the sequel will definitely address housework in some form or another – i desperately need help in that area too!

  2. Steph April 6, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Am excited to be doing my 3rd 10k on Easter Monday!! I started reading your book on the 3rd of January this year and did my second 10k last Sunday in a time of 58 minutes and 30 seconds. So very proud, and most humbly grateful x

    • gritdoctor April 6, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      well done, that is amazing, incredible progress and so fast! are you thinking of turning pro?! x

  3. Joanne Lynn April 6, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    Your weekly newsletters brighten my day, good luck with the 10k, I’m sure you will rock it , Happy Easter and happy running xx

    • gritdoctor April 6, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      what a lovely thing to say, thank you, will keep on writing them then! happy easter to you too x

  4. Fiona April 6, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    You are always welcome in Ireland, you – like Ray Darcy have inspired so many people to get up and run and take control of their health and fitness. Dont wait to be invited to a run in Ireland, just come over and you will be welcomed with open arms. You can stay in my house!! – your more than welcome. Gutted that your signing books in Dublin the weekend I’m not in Dublin. You have changed so many peoples lives and that is a massive achievement. You rock!!!

  5. Casper April 6, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    I did a 5k in Limerick on Tuesday last and when the going got tough I thought ‘Run fat bitch run’ LOL thanks so much for making this fat bitch run!!!

  6. Denise April 6, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Good luck in the 10k, that’s my ultimate goal. I’ve been doing great until today:-( i was at Bootcamp and felt something ‘twang’ or ‘pop in my calf. I rested for a bit then just did arm exercises and low impact…..however … I can’t walk tonight:-( my calf is so swollen and I can’t put weight on the ball of my foot:-( im so gutted. Feel like im going to lose everything I’ve done up to now:-( any tips?
    Enjoy easter at your mums:-) I forgot to say that I also have twins, Jessica and emily and they are 18 this year.they do get easier its just the problems get different

  7. cathyn61 April 7, 2012 at 3:27 am #

    I bought your book last weekend. I love the title! I’m not a new runner but I still found your book useful & entertaining. I’ve adopted the Grit Doctor! Currently I’m running every day (a crazy 2012 NYE resolution) & I have a half marathon next weekend. Our twins turn 30 this year – they do grow up!

  8. Christine April 7, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    I ran the Connemarathon half last Sunday and am still high as a kite. This must be the best race in the Irish calendar. It is a tough, tough course – you will need your inner grit doctor to be present and correct – but also stunningly beautiful and the race is really well organised and staffed by lovely local volunteers – Can’t wait till next year!

  9. Audrey April 7, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    I found your book both inspiring and amusing! It was the most enjoyable read I’ve had in a long time. I completed the 5k with Ray in Kilkenny (heard you on the radio on my journey up), and am also running the Wexford 10k. I’ll be the beetroot faced, out of breath woman who’ll be stalking you at the finish line till I get a photo ;-0.That is provided I don’t keel over somewhere around the 6k mark ;-0 Thank you so much for motivating me. RFBR is my new motto in life. See you in Wexford!

    • gritdoctor April 9, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      look forward to meeting you. i will be wearing rfbr tee/hoodie depending on the weather!

  10. Collette Mooney April 7, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    Thanks Ruth for telling it like it is, we all know how to keep fit but cant find the motivation to get off the sofa! I bought your book in Feb and had it read in two days, I was captivated by it. Ive always been an active mother of four but only tried running once in bootcamp and i thought i was going to die! But now ive built myself up to about 7.5 to 8 km five times a week, im still at the run, walk, run,walk stage but its getting slightly easier. Im going to carry your book around tomorrow to try and avoid as much chocolate as i can, but i know il give in! But il give it socks tomorrow evening and hopefully get myself up to 10km by the end of the month. Thanks again x

Leave a Reply

