Grit Clinic

16 Apr

The Grit Clinic this week is in reverse, in that I am the patient and everyone else the doctor.  Thanks for all your support and advice regarding my running breakdown.  I was very touched by your responses and have taken them all on board.  The good news is that I am definitely on the road to recovery.  I took a few days rest, and went out last night with my sister again (I know, I am a glutton for punishment, but I honestly didn’t think I would be able to run for 10k without someone forcing me to)!  Anyway, we headed for the woods and immediately upon starting to jog, I felt aching in my lower back and pain in my knees and my breathing felt laboured.  My sister was bouncing along like a puppy.   She asked me if I was alright and I told her how I was feeling.  She said it was just because I was tense: that I needed to relax into the run, and have confidence that my body would do its job and to keep telling myself that I am light as a feather, to stop tensing up – she said she could almost see the tension in my body.  She gently reassured me that it was all postural and in my head and tension-related and that if I just relaxed it would all be alright.  As if by magic it was just as she said.  It was only in relaxing that I realised just how wound up and tautly I was holding my body!  It was insane.  I let my arms hang loose by my sides, and felt the aching and tension leave my shoulders, neck, head, back, everywhere in fact, so much so that  the second half of the run was even easier than the first.  l could tell however, that my sister was going incredibly slowly by her standards, and at around the final couple of kms she said hopefully, “Shall we give it a nudge?” and I was amazed that I was able to crank it up a gear (although of course within seconds I couldn’t see her for dust).  I finished only a minute or so behind her though and was really really pleased to hear that I had done it all in under an hour.  Plus, no ill effects today and no headache! 

The Grit Doctor says:

Is your sister the Grit Sensei?

5 Responses to “Grit Clinic”

  1. Denise April 16, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    Glad to hear your feeling better. For the first time today I ran (jogged slowly) 5 k for the first time with only three short (30 second) walking breaks. The first 2 k of my circuit is uphill and I hate it but feel such an achievement when I get to the top. 2st 4lb and 37 inches lost in 9 weeks now. This works:-) 🙂 xx

  2. Renee Finlay-Notman April 17, 2012 at 5:54 am #

    Congratulations! :). What a fabulous sister you have.

  3. Marathon Mummy in Training April 17, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    I tried something similar today and it was amazing how fast it worked. Sometimes all it takes is a little mental re-think

  4. Cara from copycarats April 17, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Well done. It can’t be easy being a “guru” and feeling vulnerable, and then letting us all know… but can I say thank you – because the relax lesson is a good one! Good to know you’ve found your stride again. More inspiration please – just keep it coming!

  5. Giovanna April 19, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    Hey Ruth, my little sister is the same. Effortlessly awesome at running and it peeves me but she works hard at it. I tried those suggestions on my last run – not over-thinking running style and having the confidence in my own body to actually “know” how to run; leaned forward a little and WOW, what a change! Thanks for sharing both highs and lows. I am only into week 4 and loving my new headspace!

Leave a Reply

