Paula can relax

24 Apr

Well, as I expected, I didn’t break any records running the Wexford 10k on Sunday.  I ran it in around 57minutes so I was chuffed-ish. It was an unforgiving course, the first 4ks was uphill, and I was not helped by driving rain at the start which soaked through my rfbr tee, plus I had a nasty blood blister forming underneath my big toenail (as a result of dancing in ridiculously high heels until the wee hours on Friday night in Dublin, but that is another story).  The blister burst and split my toenail so I am going to have it ‘operated’ on tomorrow.  Its bloody painful and incredibly inconvenient around the twins who seem hell bent on trying to perform the surgery themselves…

Truth be told, the main motivation behind my visit to Wexford was food-based (obviously Pierce and Marilee I was dying to spend time with you as well as eat at your table)!  Pierce’s younger brother Andrew (it seems there is one in every family – see earlier blog about my grit sensei little sis) took up running only 8 weeks ago and whilst Pierce and Marilee were chilling out for a month in South Africa and had slackened off with their training, Andrew was out there pounding the pavements.  He nailed the 10k race in 51 minutes.  Once again, I had been comprehensively thrashed – this time by someone else’s younger sibling. 

But back to the real winner though – the food.  Pierce (of recent masterchef fame) cooked up the most exquisite pre-race supper: seared scallops (really fat and juicy ones) on haggis with an apple puree and various jus/reduction swirly bits so beautifully presented that I had to take a photo – which I sadly have no idea how to upload – and it tasted every bit as good as it looked.  It was followed by hot smoked salmon pasta – completely delicious and perfect fuel for the race.  His mum gave him a run for his money with a nourishing beef stew and mash for our post-race feast.  Of course, much guinness and wine was drunk and much laughter and merriment was had.  We were all so chuffed to be together again and for having collectively achieved so much by midday on a Sunday!  We have all promised to run it again next year, hopefully the half-marathon next time and I am going to try and rope in O…

 The Grit Doctor says:

As with all runs, the best part is often crossing the finishing line in one piece and even better is the guilt free eating and drinking that follows.

The Grit Doctor also says:

Grit is no substitute for actual training.

A Grit Doctor challenge:

Next year Andrew, you’re toast.

11 Responses to “Paula can relax”

  1. Gwen Hamer April 24, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    Your “unfollow” auto-link doesn’t work.
    Please removeme from your email list.

    • gritdoctor April 24, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      im so sorry but i dont know how to. i will try and find out and do so asap

    • poetrhi April 24, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Hi Gwen, I’m afraid that this is a WordPress issue rather than one for us. If you’ve tried both fixes on this link:

      http://en.support.wordpress.com/following/#unfollowing-a-blog

      then I’m afraid it’s something you’ll have to contact WordPress about as we don’t have access to the list of email subscribers.

  2. Margarite April 25, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Hi Ruth!
    (I don’t even know if you will read this) I loved loved your book-am so inspired and recommending it to everyone. You must be proud of yourself for influencing so many people. My problem when I run is that I manage to convince myself I am a mrs perfect knickers-so much so that I better not overdo the perfection…….and resulting in me never doing anything for long. I love that inner voice concept that sums up the harsh facts. There is too much namby

    • Margarite April 25, 2012 at 9:43 am #

      (oops I posted too early-sorry)…..anyho, namby pambiness out there resulting in complete delusions that the state of ones body is grand.
      Can I just ask quickly-I don’t understand this website at all. How does it work? Like, if I want to check in for a daily dose of inspiration where do I go? Is there an index of dates of comments you can access? Thanks-hope someone reads this

      • gritdoctor April 25, 2012 at 10:23 am #

        i have no idea how the website works I’m afraid! i usually do a couple of blogs each week and you can subscribe to the blog and get those blogs emailed to you direct if you like. i usually do a ‘grit clinic’ each monday answering readers’ questions about running/motivation/fitness. i am so glad you enjoyed the book, do keep it up and do keep me posted x

  3. Liisa April 26, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    Hi Ruth
    Isnt it bitter sweet when you are forced to rest 🙂 i just wanted to say how motivating and inspiring i found your book but best of all it is bloody funny and sooo true. A few of my friends mentioned it to me and i was finally intrigued enough to buy and read it. I was itching to run as soon as I started to read. For various reasons I was resigned to the fact that my running days were over and was enjoying cycling instead however deep down i kept thinking “yeah but it’s not running” . The grit doctor had me in my sneakers and out the door aiming for a ten second run and I stopped 55min later totally elated. I am back, thank you for breaking my 5 year running drought!

    • gritdoctor April 27, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

      that is wonderful to hear, so so pleased for you! and yes, the toe nail debacle is very much turning into a blessing in disguise!

  4. theprgeek April 29, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    Hey Ruth. Started reading your book the Sunday of the London Marathon and started Week 1 on the Monday. I’m at the stage now where I should be running for 5 minutes but I can’t seem to make it to five minutes no matter how slow I jog. I can manage about 2 and a half minutes followed by a five minute walk followed by another 2 and a half minutes. Any advice you have on this will be greatly received. Happy Sunday!

    • gritdoctor April 29, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

      what you are doing is absolutely fine. Stick with your 2.5mins and just try to increase it by 30 secs or as much as you can manage each week. you will reach 5 in no time, and you are not on your own, loads of people struggle to reach 5 mins which is why i suggest no running until you are walking your circuit fast and comfortably. you only started a week ago! so 2.5mins running is pretty good going. stick with it, SLOW RIGHT DOWN and keep me posted. good luck. If its ok with you, I am going to post this question and answer in my grit clinic tomorrow as you are not the only person to struggle to reach 5 mins!

      • theprgeek April 29, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

        Hi Ruth. Thanks for replying. No problem putting this on your clinic. Please share away. Makes me feel much better that I’m not alone. I’m averaging 14.51 minutes per mile on my walk so not doing bad walking wise (I don’t think anyway). Managed to run 2 sets of 2.5 minutes today followed by a 4 minutes – and I swear it was the song that I was listening to that got me there. Feeling positive and will be sure to keep going. Thank-you so much for writing this book. I have a feeling it might just change my life!

Leave a Reply

