Inspiration from Melbourne

2 May

I received this email a few days ago from Lisa, and was so moved and inspired by it, I asked if I could print it as a guest blog. Here goes:

Hi Grit Doctor,

Four years ago I was training to run a 10km fun run when I got hit by a golden retriever at full pace and smashed up my knee. The surgeon told me they may not be able to fix it as it was such an unusual fracture and I spent 11 days in hospital before they could figure it out!  Fortunately, with the help of dissolving pins and an excellent surgeon the knee has healed very well. However my confidence to run again had been thwarted. I made a few attempts but after a few sessions the knee would flare up and I would have to rest it. I never really took the physiotherapy require to restrengthen it seriously, BUT late last year a friend told me about RFBR and it has turned me around. I started clinical pilates and yoga (for my knee) and slow jogging according to your program and I am loving it. It has been over 4 months and I have entered a fun run in JULY. Some days I LOVE running, others can be tough but I am committed and I now know how to look after my knee.

Not only has RFBR helped me to re-engage in exercise but I have also applied it to my studies. To complete my dissertion I coached myself through the times of my worst procrastination with the mantra WDBW (Write Dumb Bitch write). I stopped self-sabotaging, I put some structure into my day and I found my inner Grit Doctor. It so happens I passed with flying colours!  I think some of us nurture and encourage our inner victim and hold ourselves back. That is what I had been doing for many years. It has taken me into my forties realising that the most worthwhile things in life are the things that require effort, whether training the body or the mind. Thanks again, and once I run my 10km I will be looking to step up to doing a half marathon!!! Thanks,

Lisa (Melbourne, Australia)

6 Responses to “Inspiration from Melbourne”

  1. coalpress May 2, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Gorgeous – thanks for the added inspiration! Appreciate it.

  2. zarstar May 2, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Hey Grit Doctor,
    Do you know of a good sports therapist in the muswell hill area? I’ve been a bit vigorous in my boot camp & running and now my feet, ankles & lower legs are very swollen, painful & red. The dr has told me to rest for 2 weeks & just do gentle exercise thereafter :o(
    Any ideas would be great x

    • gritdoctor May 2, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

      I’m afraid I dont, but I am going to put the request out on twitter and see what comes back.x

  3. Elaine Beckett May 2, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Fab blog! Since I read the book two months ago I have entered myself into London Marathon – what have I done!!!!

  4. Renee Finlay-Notman May 3, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    You are an inspiration. Good luck with the 10k!

  5. MTM June 12, 2012 at 4:56 am #

    Great work Lisa! Fascinating how we hold ourselves back and employ 1,001 strategies to stop us from realising our successes. Like you the book has made me think about how I can apply this method to other areas of my life… there are several areas that need some Grit Doctor attention!

Leave a Reply

