New Zealand Grit

9 May

Let me introduce Michele who got in touch with me via the Run Fat Bitch Run facebook page about 6 weeks ago.  Michele lives in New Zealand, is 54 and last year had a kidney removed due to cancer.  Prior to this, she had been running fairly regularly but for the 12 months since the operation had found it almost impossible to motivate herself.  She told me she read RFBR on her ipad on the beach and developed a love/hate relationship with the Grit Doctor.  One of her main concerns was the coming winter in NZ, the sub zero temperatures, the challenging terrain and still being able to get up and run.  But, it was very clear to me that this woman has balls of steel so I basically told her to wrap up and suck it up.

Today she wrote me this:

The story so far……..
It is now six weeks since I bought your book and went to the beach to regroup myself. My beach run was all flat, did that for two weeks. Home is a town beside a huge crater lake, my run has wee rises that feel like high hills, it is not a circuit like in your book, your parks are the size of our town, I run 3 km out of town and back. Out of town is a road well used as it goes out to an industrial area, all paved.
So far I have managed to plan these runs so if I am out of town for work over night I will change my day off. By a run I mean a slow jog.
At the start I prepared myself for rain as it rained here all summer.
Murphy’s Law, in this six week we have not had rain. We have had frosts, fog, wind but no rain, until now.
I get up at about 5.30am and run with dog Bella. Black Lab.
Yesterday morning I could hear dripping, oh no my first rain run. I voiced not wanting to go and Andy said ‘What would the Grit Dr say?”
Put on thermals and light jacket, gave my trusty tread mill a side ways glance and headed out, it was only misty so I cooked in my thermals, had a mini sauna happening in my clothes.
This morning it was pouring, I said to my husband “I don’t believe I am getting out of bed at 5.30 and going for a run in this rain!” He said ‘I dont believe it either” Well that did it! I would prove him wrong.
Back into thermal’s (cooked again), serious rain and wind proof jacket with hood, lit myself up like a christmas tree, called Bella and off into the dark wet morning.
I spent most of the run thinking of what I was going to write to you about, none of which is here. Running up the hilly parts was one foot in front of the other in a jogging motion but the speed of a walk.
Miserable. But then I started to like it. I was actually better than running in the frosty cold.
I know it is going to get another 10 degress colder here. There will be sleet and a time I wil not create my own sauna in my thermals.
Once I would never run in the rain, why would I, I have a treadmill.
Today I did my first rain run/crawl.  Thanks to you

3 Responses to “New Zealand Grit”

  1. Marina May 9, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    That’s so touching! Good for you Michele! Shows you the effect the Grit Doctor is having! Well done!

  2. Lindie May 9, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Yes, we’ll done Michele 🙂

  3. Denise Whitley May 9, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Well done Michele. That takes alot of motivation to get out of a warm bed at 5.30am. Keep up the good work.xx

Leave a Reply

