Grinspiration and a Top Tip for running mums

10 May

Just a quickie (oooh i wish)! to say that I am at that stage of my gammy toe, cough cold etc where I can feel in my bones that a good run will blow away the cobwebs and speed up my recovery process rather than send me to casualty.  I still feel rubbish, but not really ill and the grit monster within is hungry, fed on a healthy diet of grit from all corners of the globe: Michele in NewZealand, Lisa in Australia and Emma in Devon (who ran up the Devon hills with her toddler in a napsack) to name but a few.  So, this blog is really just me declaring a run – my first since 22nd April – because I know in writing it down I won’t be able to wriggle out of it so easily.

Top grit-tip for the running mum:

If you are planning on going for a run today and you are a busy mum like me (I’m not sure this look would work for an office girl), I wake up and get straight into my  running kit – yep, all of it, so there is no fannying around when the opportunity arises to get outside and run.  Rather than looking truly awful when I venture outside with the buggy, I look instead tres sporty and actually have a valid excuse for wearing tracksuit bottoms (confession: I wear tracksuit bottoms daily).  They look much more acceptable teamed with my runners and hoodie than with anything else.  So, I kill two birds with one stone:  Being ‘run-ready’ around the clock and having a great answer/put down to any yummy mummy or insensitive adult who dares comment on my attire: ‘Oh, I’m going for a run actually’…..watch them turn green with envy.

The Grit Doctor says:

A cold without a temperature is runnable with.  So is a toe without a nail.  So what are you waiting for – RUN FAT BITCH RUN.

7 Responses to “Grinspiration and a Top Tip for running mums”

  1. Renee Finlay-Notman May 10, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    Awwwww… Now you’ve inspired me! I’m on the couch with a sore throat and using that as an excuse… Time to get off my arse and into my track suit! Thanks Grit Doctor! 😄

  2. Gwen Hamer May 10, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    My comment is I’d like to stop receiving these blogs,texts etc and that your method for doing so (link below) is clearly not working. I gave asked you to do this many timesnow. Do you think you could take time out of jogging, writing about jogging and telling us how your jogging makes you efficient and effective to do something useful and manage your site/texts/emails so that I and others who don’t
    want to receive these stop receiving them?! It’s pretty basic really.

    • gritdoctor May 10, 2012 at 10:49 am #

      I have done my best to help! my colleague Rhiannon sent you a message explaining how to stop receiving the blog entries. That if the link doesnt work, then it is a matter for wordpress, unless you are willing to disclose to Rhiannon other details about yourself with which she might be able to help. I do realise it must be very annoying, unfortunately I am not able to unsubscibe you, it has to come from you…

    • Jesssica May 10, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      Is it really necessary to be so unpleasant Gwen? I say go for a run – the seratonin boost will help you to become more pleasant.

      • gritdoctor May 10, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

        ahh, thanks Jessica!

    • Denise May 10, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      Why not block the grit doctor via your email provider, or just consign them to your spam box. Whilst I appreciate that you may find them annoying, it is in fact a very minor issue in the grand scheme of things really and one that you could easily solve by just clicking delete. You really don’t have to read them if your that bored.

  3. poetrhi May 10, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    Hi Gwen,
    As I said before – this is entirely a WordPress issue, and if the link I sent last time doesn’t work then you need to contact them.

    This is the link again: https://subscribe.wordpress.com/. You will need to enter the email address that our subscription is being sent to, and you’ll get an email with details of how to manage your subscriptions. It will have a link which will bring up all the blogs you’re subscribed to. If you hover over ‘The Grit Doctor’ (which should appear in this list if you are subscribed to it) a red ‘unfollow’ link will appear below the name of the blog. If you click it, the blog should disappear from the list and you shouldn’t get emails anymore.

    If this hasn’t or doesn’t work then it is WordPress who you need to contact and not Ruth.

    Best wishes,
    Rhiannon

Leave a Reply

