Irish Grit

18 May

I loved receiving this email from Paula McHale the other day who kindly gave me permission to print it as a guest blog.  It really inspired me and just goes to show that even a seasoned runner (who would most certainly be thrashing me over any distance) suffers from motivation meltdown and ultimately needs the same nudge to lace up and get outside again as we all do.  So thank you Paula for sharing this:

Hi Ruth

I’ve just been reading your blog, after having a great 10 mile run this morning and thought I’d send you a thank you email.

I bought your book 4 weeks ago and read it almost in one sitting, eating up the pages. I’ve been a runner (or rather a jogger) for the guts of ten years now. I’ve done 4 marathons, and a heap load of 10K races.  My best marathon and training before hand was 2010, when I completed the dublin marathon in 4hrs 32mins (knocking 20 minutes off my 3 previous marathons).  I really enjoyed that training and was determined that year. In my training runs I stuck to a heart rate of
between 160 and 180 and each training run was a huge improvement on the last one.

Then, last year I’d a few really bad infections from January to April, was just back, had done a 10K on easter Monday and then the following evening I went out for a small cycle and fell off my bike, breaking my ankle. This morning was my first 10 mile run since. 

After reading your book, I just said to myself, right, just get back out there and run, as per your instructions!  So I’ve been running between 4 and 5 times a week since.  This week I hadn’t done a whole lot and this morning I just felt as light and free and just kept running. Your book was the nudge I needed to get back to it all, take it easy and enjoy the runs that were enjoyable and just get through the runs that were a plod.  So now I get up and put on the gear and get out the door
without thinking too much about it and just do it. It’s great.  So Ruth, thank you so much for the nudge that I needed.  I’m loving getting back to running and after this morning I’m beginning to think, well maybe October 2012 will be my come back marathon.  Thank you Ruth and enjoy your runs.
All the best, Paula

The Grit Doctor says:

All of us, no matter what level we are at, have to dig deep to get those trainers on, step outside and RUN.  And every time we do WE WIN.

5 Responses to “Irish Grit”

  1. Sharon May 18, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    I completed my first half marathon last Sunday in 2.07 and am thrilled. Now contemplating the full marathonin OCT…..Gulp!

    • gritdoctor May 18, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

      That is INCREDIBLE. Well done

    • Paula May 22, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

      Hi Sharon, Go for it Sharon! It’s all about training and just doing it! enjoy it all, Paula.

  2. Lindie May 18, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Good for you Paula and enjoy your Marathon come back in Oct 🙂

    • Paula May 22, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      thanks Lindie for your lovely comment. happy running. paula

Leave a Reply

