Sweat is Fat Crying

23 May

Think how much crying fat you will produce on your run today!  SCORCHIO..  I was crying a load of fat on my run yesterday and smiling to myself thinking about it (thanks again Zoe). I’d had a brilliant afternoon brainstorming with my editor and had actually been telling her how hard I was finding my runs at the moment, how sluggish my body felt and just how difficult every run seemed to be.   She looked at me in horror, clearly disturbed to hear that the Grit Doctor could be feeling this way, but the reality is, I am no different from anyone else and a lot of my runs are bloody hellish as I’m sure a lot of yours’ are.  But there is a constant: I ALWAYS feel amazing afterwards – ALWAYS.  So I keep going out to the woods, in the vain hope that surely one of these days I will have a good one.

Well, I had it last night.  It was a magical run.  I felt lighter on my feet, felt less resistance in my legs and in my head.  Even that first 10 minutes wasn’t as bad as usual and seemed to pass more quickly which gave me hope, and then the wierdest thing happened.  I went into some sort of trance, it was as though I blinked and suddenly I had done a whole lap, blinked again and I’d done another, I honestly felt like I could run forever.  I have not had a run like it in years, certainly not since having the twins, and it was an absolute joy.  I went into that amazing zone, where there were no twinges, no aches, no sore back, no cough, no cold, no anxieties, just perfect running conditions and my body working like a well oiled machine.  I was even able to do what my little sister would have suggested and ‘give it a nudge’, quite a big nudge in fact, for the last part of the run.

It wasn’t a big run or a particularly fast run but it was a perfect run.  It made me feel free.

The Grit Doctor says:

When a run like this happens to you, recognise it and relish the experience.  Because you can almost guarantee that the next one will be different.

5 Responses to “Sweat is Fat Crying”

  1. Jennifer May 23, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    It’s good to know that everyone has those bad runs – I am training for a 10k and every bad run makes me panic that I’ll never even get round, let alone in less than 3 months. I keep telling myself though that every run counts and it’ll all be fine in 7 week’s time… *gulp*

  2. Annemarie May 23, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    there’s hope for us all so!! I’m finding every single run hell at the moment, I ran a 5K race last night and wanted to give up many times througout such was the torture but I kept going and like you I felt fantastic afterwards and still do today. I just wish some of that great feeling could happen DURING the run to keep me going!! I have a 10K in 12 days so I’m mentally trying to convince myself it will be great and I can do it…..Thanks for the constant motivation 🙂

    • gritdoctor May 23, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

      my pleasure, and you will have one although i dont know when – a really good run – let me know when it happens..

  3. Marguerite May 23, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Fat crying. Tee hee. Love love love that! Can I ask a teeny question here-I had an amazing run a few weeks back, I untypically was running home after a gym work out and I felt like I was flying. All of a sudden my feet were landing differently and it felt easier. I have never run like that before but it definitely increased my pace. I was landing on the balls of my feet-is that what the pros do? Or is that what you are not supposed to do……can’t remember.

    • gritdoctor May 23, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      totally what the pros do. apparently, running landing on our heels is not the way forward. ‘barefoot running’ as its called is much better for our joints/injuries and apparently easier. i am about to get myself some flatter trainers to try and retrain my body to run more like that. will investigate further and answer this in depth in the grit clinic on monday

Leave a Reply

