Inspiration from Ireland

28 Jun
Yesterday, I got this letter from Samantha Barry and she has kindly allowed me to post it here.  I just think it is so inspiring…
Hi Ruth, I just wanted to thank you again for finding time to write the book that has changed my life. I posted on your blog about 10 days ago in response to the being fat and how lack of excercise and eating crap does lead to it.  I am the 3 stone overweight mum of 3 that decided to just get over it, listen to her grit doctor and change it. Well the reason I am messaging you is that this morning I actually jogged my route.  My route is just under 6k with the warm up and cool down, or 4.5km pure jogging.  I was never so happy when I saw the entrance of my estate and realised I had done it.  If someone had told me 3 1/2 weeks ago when I was at my lowest point in my weightloss journey ever, that in less than a month I would be able to run that far or for that long I would have laughed at them.    I spent years always envying the joggers and the runners, wishing I could do it and look like them.  The book has changed my life.  I now know that I can do it and I will look like them (eventually).  I look at toned skinny women with admiration now instead of bitterness, because as your book says, it takes work to look like that.   The excuses are gone and according to my other half I am a much nicer person to live with, (“Not that I was that bad to start with, just easier now” Bless him for trying to be tactful)  I never realised that “just” a book could do that. I just wanted to let you know that I had completed my route (now to look less red when jogging it and eventually make the route longer.) Thank you again for writing this it has had such an impact, a big enough impact to make me ditch the excuses, remove my fat arse from the arse shaped dent in the couch and do something about it.  It also provided me with a guide on how to do it, because that was my biggest excuse.  Now to just get tweeking on the diet, but I am hoping that as time goes on my head will get in line with the body and make me not want the crap so much anymore.  My ultimate goal is to run the the Flora mini Marathon in Dublin next June, not walk it but to run it, I know it maybe a long way off, but we all have to start somewhere. Thank you again for helping me find my grit doctor and giving me the kick I needed to alter my way of life.
The Grit Doctor says:
WELL DONE SAMANTHA.  You should be really proud of yourself.  And, you are going to totally nail that mini marathon next June.  BRING IT ON!
2 Responses to “Inspiration from Ireland”

  1. pamorourke June 28, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    Big congrats Samantha! Ruth too has been such an inspiration, same story I’ve 3 kids & am 2 years trying to get back to my pre baby weight & lose 3 stone. It was much easier after the first two kids but this time it’s been a constant battle & struggle, since reading RFBR, I’ve NO excuses, and have been running since February, the weight is slow to come off but my fitness has improved dramatically and I itch to go running everyday. Samantha has said it all, so huge thanks Ruth!

  2. Maclegend June 28, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Absolutely amazing and inspiring. I have been at it for a while now and still walking and running so thank you for writing this and food luck with Flora

Leave a Reply

