The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile One #rfbr26

16 Jul

Very excited that we’re launching the RFBR26 marathon relay today! Twenty-five brave RFBR fans will each be running a mile and telling us a little bit about what running means to them – and they’ll all get this very stylish medal for their efforts.

 

There are some truly inspirational and very moving stories on the way, so keep a look out for them as the miles add up on the blog.

I’ll be running the twenty-sixth and final mile on 9 August, the publication day of THE RUN FAT B!TCH RUN MARATHON PLAN. Don’t forget to pre-order your copy now from Amazon or Apple – it’s only 99p for a limited time.

MILE 1

Sue Drummie ran the first mile of the relay in Orpington, Kent.

Late last year I decided that enough was enough of being extremely obese, I weighed 25st 13lb at this point, and started healthy eating. By feb/march I decided to find an exercise to help me along the way, a friend suggested RFBR. I read the book within 3 hrs and started running the next day, as I was so over weight I started 2days a week. I think I weighed roughly 24.5st when starting and I couldn’t run for more than 3 mins. Now in July I weight 20st 6lb and have lost 5.5st all together, I can run for 40 mins solidly, not a fast pace but I’m not in a race. Just before Xmas I found myself almost an alcoholic too, 2 bottles of wine a night! With the help of RFBR I’ve managed to find my ‘buzz’ from running and not drinking, I don’t drink at all now and when stressed or angry go running! I can’t really explain how much this book has changed my life, from mental attitude to relationships with my husband and children. Thank goodness I picked it up and read it!

THE GRIT DOCTOR SAYS:

Sue, what an inspiring story to kick off our marathon relay. You should be very proud of yourself for kicking the grog and shifting those pounds *wipes away tear* WELL DONE and THANK YOU.

6 Responses to “The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile One #rfbr26”

  1. Julie O'Connor July 16, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Well done Sue – keep up the good work. It just gets better and better – delighted for you 🙂

  2. elena isaac July 16, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    Sue your incredible :-). Seeing you run today made me really smile you look so at ease running that I have now promised myself to finish the book love ya your friend always Elena xxx

  3. Helen July 16, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    Well done Sue, reading your story has given me the kick that I need to stop making excuses (again) and get back out running more than my measly once a week! Truly inspirational!! 🙂

  4. Jo July 17, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    What an inspiring story Sue. Honest, brave and a proper runner. You should be very proud.

  5. pamorourke July 17, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Fantastic inspiration! Well done Sue!

  6. Chloe Hinchy January 6, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    Sue’s story is what made me pick up RFBR and today I got my fat arse off the sofa and started my journey.
    I’m 18 stone 5lbs and the Queen of excuses.
    2013 is a big year for me, I’m emigrating to the US and want to turn up with a body I’m proud of and a hobby I can do anywhere – thanks Ruth and Sue for calling me out on my bullsh*t excuses once and for all!!

Leave a Reply

