The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile Two #rfbr26

17 Jul

MILE 2

Wendy ran the second mile of the relay in Dinton Pastures, Wokingham.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Grit Dr, I have been so inactive since teenage years have even put “self confessed non athletic person” on CVs in the past! Then I read your book. Family and friends stunned at this former couch potato now running three to four times a week. Weight coming off steadily. Have inspired about half a dozen friends and family to get started too! Most importantly though is the sense of self belief it has given me. I am “getting shit done” all over the place. Couldn’t have happened at a better time for me either. Started new role at work and my efforts seem to be going down a storm. You could say Grit Dr got me a pay rise!

THE GRIT DOCTOR SAYS:

Wendy, how I love that you have injected grit into all areas of your life and into other peoples’. This makes you something of a Grit Messiah. *wild reverential applause*

3 Responses to “The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile Two #rfbr26”

  1. P Taylor July 17, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    I read the book great job. I decided something had to be done so I started jogging about 4 months ago. Only one question really, I suffer from spinal stenosis which sends these really bad pains down my legs, I keep telling myself there’s nothing wrong with my legs but still I stop jogging when I really want to continue (in other words my leg refuses to go another step) is there anyother way for me to trick myself to keep moving. I finally feel I’m getting somewhere and don’t want to lose that. Thankyou

    • gritdoctor July 19, 2012 at 9:08 am #

      you poor thing what a pain – literally and metaphorically. I am not a real doctor and please do see one to discuss your exercise/fitness plans with this condition. Running im afraid is really not a good idea with spinal stenosis because the impact can aggravate the condition. Swimming and biking are much better nad work on strengthening your core and stretching too…..sadly grit cannot cure all ills! x

      • P Taylor July 19, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

        Thanks very much for getting back to me. My doctors advice wasn’t very helpful he tells me to take walks but believe it or not I find walking very painful for my back after a half mile or so- jogging (or my form of jogging, don’t want to insult real joggers) doesn’t bother my back too much but these pains down the leg are doing me in. I think for a while I’ll stick with the jogging only doing 2 to 4 km 5 days a week for as long as i can I roped two of my daughters (twins) into joining me they don’t need to loose weight but they want sculpted calves I can’t quit on them.

Leave a Reply

