The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 4 #rfbr26

19 Jul

MILE 4

Michele (and her dog!) ran the fourth mile of the relay in Taupo, New Zealand

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My name is Michele, I am soon to be 56 years old. I first started running about five years ago. I got to running about 5 or 6 Km most week days. This was built up over a period of time. Long story short I was diagnosed with kidney cancer. If the growth had been 1cm bigger they would not have operated. February 2011 they removed my kidney. After three months I tried to get back into ‘it’, usually on the treadmill as it was winter then outside. But I couldn’t make my goal. I was tired, demanding job and physically unfit. I took 2 weeks out, went to the bach at the beach with my dog and RFBR on the Ipad. So began my journey back to running. Love Hate relationship with the gritdoctor I achieved my goal of running the 6kms. I stuck to this when I returned home with one day off a week, quit my job, and set goals again. Then damaged both Achilles tendons. So begins again my journey back to recovery.

 

THE GRIT DOCTOR SAYS:

Michele, you are the true embodiment of grit. I know how deep you have dug, I know how early you have been getting up, I know how cold you are and I know the pain you have felt. You are often the reason I go for a run, so thank you for all that extra grit you have been supplying me from NZ. *bows respectfully*

One Response to “The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 4 #rfbr26”

  1. Michele tunnicliffe July 19, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    Thank you Ruth, You almost made me cry (you will have to try harder than that, lol). Seriously I could not have done this without your support, you have been my inspiration and so have the stories of women you have inspired. Thanks everyone for the support.

Leave a Reply

