The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 9 #rfbr26

25 Jul

Mile 9

Mandy ran the 9th mile in London (try and guess where!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am 42 years and live in Grays, Essex.  After reading RFBR at Christmas 2011, I realised that I had always used ‘Excuse No 1 – Not the right build for running’. At 5ft 4in and 13 stone I had to do something, so in a moment of madness I signed up for the BUPA London 10K for May 2012. My first run in London I could not even manage one mile non-stop and so I continued slowly through the winter months, recovering from a hip injury due to wearing the wrong trainers.  Very soon I found I was actually enjoying being out on the frosty mornings jogging up and down the Thames with just a few other runners. In May 2012 I completed my 10k in 1hour 8minutes and was very proud of myself as it was a very hot day (26 degrees!!)  I now run 3 times a week and have lost 1st 7lbs so far. I have signed up for another 10k in October and I am definitely looking out for a half marathon, then maybe the London Marathon 2014!! Thanks Grit Doctor x.

The Grit Doctor says:

Well done Mandy, from couch potato to aspiring marathoner in a matter of months. You have demonstrated that incredible results are possible just from binning the excuses and lacing up in a good pair of trainers. 

 

2 Responses to “The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 9 #rfbr26”

  1. Esther Knight July 25, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    If any cynics, naysayers, excuse-kittens, sad- sacks or depressed doubters ever ask for evidence of what running does for your spirit, mood and general outlook on life just send them a link to this photo. We’ve never met, but Mandy’s grin has just made my day !

Leave a Reply

