The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 15 #rfbr26

30 Jul

Mile 15

Another truely inspirational mile in Bray, Co Wicklow from Jacqui:

How has RFBR changed my life, where to start?  I’m over 45, over weight and other than walking, was an exercise phobe.  I had every excuse in the book ‘I’m too fat’, ‘I’ll wreck my knees’, even ‘my boobs are too big’ to even contemplate running.  That’s until a friend of mine started a running programme and told me about your book.  I admit to being jealous – my friend was very like me, yet got off her ass and started running.  So I thought about it.  And I thought about it some more.  Then I put some runners on and went out.  Well, I thought I would have to be stretchered home (and I was only doing 1 minute intervals) and I was terrified someone would see me.  But you know what – when I finally got my breath back, I felt thrilled with myself.  So I read your book (devoured it, more like).  Took myself off to some local football pitches where I wouldn’t feel all self conscious and gave running a serious go.  That was 8 weeks ago.  I ran my first 5k two weeks ago and it was the best feeling ever.   (I had left the playing pitches behind me after a fortnight).  In the past, I would always find a reason not to exercise – now I find many reasons to don my runners and get out there.  Sounds mad – but I take a photo of myself when I come in from a good run – I swear you can see the ‘buzz’ on my face.  I’ve signed up for my first official 5k race in September – and I’m so excited about that, I never imagined I’d ever, ever do that.  So thank you, for getting me off my lardy arse and out running.  My whole well being, my weight, my confidence, my husband and my kids are very grateful!!

The Grit Doctor says:

Jacqui, there is nothing like the green-eyed monster to get us up off our arses when all else has failed. Envy+humour+grit = motivation gold. WELL DONE

One Response to “The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 15 #rfbr26”

  1. Nikki Edmonds July 30, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    I am loving reading everyday about the mile marathon… It’s inspiring and everyone should be really proud of themselves! I ran my first 5k in 30mins tonight… before I only got up to 4 so I am really proud! the book got me out the door and this blog is keeping me there… Thank you!

Leave a Reply

