The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 16 #rfbr26

31 Jul

Mile 16

With the relay showing no sign of hitting ‘the wall’, Joy ran our 16th mile in Leicestershire…and had a brilliantly original way of sharing her story:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

47 and feeling old
Didn’t know what to do
Full of excuses, full of cake
And feeling really blue

Wandered into the library
One rainy day in Spring
Saw your book but was quick to say,
“Nah, running’s not my thing…”

The book came home with me anyway
I’m not sure how or why
I read a few pages while eating a twix
The time just seemed to fly

Before I knew it I’d read the lot
It seemed to be written just for me
And now I’m running 5 times a week
Never been so full of glee!

The Grit Doctor says:

Oh Joy, what a joy your poem was to read! So glad RFBR found you #poetryinmotion

One Response to “The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 16 #rfbr26”

  1. Collette Mooney July 31, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    brilliant, love it!!!

Leave a Reply

