The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 18 #rfbr26

2 Aug

Mile 18

Linda ran our 18th mile, in Barnsley:

 

Following 13 years as Headteacher of 3 schools I decided, following doctors advice, to take early retirement in December 2011. I was completely exhausted after a traumatic final year which was the most stressful of my life. I didn’t realise how unfit and unhappy I had become until I stopped working 24/7. But what next….?
 
A colleague had given me a book voucher as a retirement gift and I was wandering around the bookshop trying to find something to spend it on. There was a ‘New Year Resolution’ display with all the ususal suspects – turn over a new leaf, loose a stone by cutting off your head, stop drinking etc and ‘Run Fat Bitch Run’. The title made me laugh out loud and I picked it up and flicked through it. I thought ‘What on earth can you write about running that would fill a book this big! You just run – what else is there to it.’
 
I didn’t buy it but couldn’t get the title out of my head. Went back a week later and bought it. Read it in one sitting and was completely smitten. Drink more water, eat less crap, get shit done, no more excuses – simple but brilliant! 
 
I started the walk/jog the following day repeating drink more water, eat less crap in my head with each step. It was hard but exhilarating. I thought my running days were done! I used to run in my late twenties when leg warmers and Jane Fonda were all the rage. Women didn’t run alone then and if you did you were hooted at by passing cars and told to ‘ger um off!’ How times have changed or maybe a 56 year old doesn’t have the same appeal!
 
Well the book helped me to put my life back on track and I am fitter than I have been for years (apart from multiple hot flushes but less said about them the better). I entered the Sport Relief Mile in March and did 3 miles and have done two 5K charity runs so far. My next challenge is a 10K sometime soon. My new mantra is ‘everytime you run you win’ because it’s true!
 
The Grit Doctor says:
 
Linda, it’s so wonderful how you have spread the RFBR word like fairydust around the UK and I so enjoyed meeting you at the Richmond 5K. Well done and thank you *huge hug and muchos grit*
One Response to “The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 18 #rfbr26”

  1. Helen August 4, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    I read this on Thursday evening after a rough day at work, in what has been a stressful few months. My running has been pretty hit and miss recently. On Thursday morning I promised myself I would run after work. By Thursday after work I’d convinced myself I was too tired/had too hard a day…..and found myself settled on the sofa with my laptop. With some guilt I read yet another post from one of many inspiring runners and felt quite annoyed with myself. Linda your story and quoting the “get shit done, no more excuses” got me into my trainers and out the door for the first 4 miles and most pleasant run I’ve done in weeks and I returned a resolved, less stressed and a bit more positve. So thank you Linda & Ruth and all the others with hugely motivating stories!!

Leave a Reply

