The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 20 #rfbr26

6 Aug

Mile 20

That glorious finish line is getting ever closer, and Melanie ran our 20th relay mile in Romford:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not quite a year ago my husband left me for another woman and changed the locks on our home. I lost the most important person in my life and my home in a matter of hours. I was devastated. I put a considerable amount of time and effort into developing a good arse shaped dent into the sofa. I felt worthless and battled with severe depression.

Just over a month ago I discovered your book, and it was like a light went on for me. I am definitely a bitch and with four and a half stones to shift I was definitely fat. Now while my zombie-like shuffle before work every morning just about qualifies as a run, it has helped me to shift half a stone and the depression crippling my every move.  Now when I get a letter from my solicitor – I run, when I get a vicious text message from my soon to be ex-husband – I run, when I am sad or angry or lonely – I run, and when I’m done I no longer care about my husband. I am thankful for all the wonderful things in my life including running. I just wanted to thank-you for the verbal boot up my fat arse.

The Grit Doctor says:

I really feel for you Melanie, and its so great that you have channelled your energies into something so positive when you could have easily wallowed in bitterness and self-pity. WELL DONE.

One Response to “The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 20 #rfbr26”

  1. Bonnie Sweet August 6, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    Well done you. Keep it up. I can relate it was why I started running in 2007. I lost 5 stone back then. A back injury in Dec 2009 saw me stop running and gaining 4 and a half stone. I found Ruth’s wonderful book and actually managed to get back into running. I am now 4 stone lighter and happy. My husband and I reconciled in early 2009. But this year I have been coping with my friend being diagnosed with breast cancer my dad having a stroke my husband has a serious medical condition and my job is very demanding. I have taken it all in my stride thanks to running. You are doing the same. Keep running keep winning. Big hugs to you you go! X

Leave a Reply

