The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 21 #rfbr26

7 Aug

Mile 21

Kerry ran our 21st mile – in Takapuna, Aukland, and even named it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was right into my running and managing to run 10kms quite easily, increasing my distance and hoping to run a half marathon before the end of the year, but I get bored fairly easily and decided I needed to add to my routine and spice things up.  Sitting at my desk an email popped up on my screen to join my local boot camp and to top it all off I could save 75% if I booked before Friday…Wahoo my wish had been answered and boredom as to be a thing of the past. 

Registration complete I dragged my butt out of bed and headed to my first class at 5:30am, it was dark and cold but I didn’t care.  The class was a mixer of different ages and genders, but I was the tortoise amongst the hares.  I have never ever been a speed demon and never will.  I was happy plodding along at the back and showed up each week for my two days of torture. 

At week 4 I hit a wall, my Achilles was playing up and I was in pain, my instructor told me to get over myself and harden the frig up (I later found out this guy was not only a personal trainer but also a Physio…oh and a jerk).  Two days later the pain was so bad I could not put my heel on the ground and headed to the Physio.  The Physio informed me I had Achilles Tendonitis and needed to stop running for at least 3 months….I was gutted….and 3 months actually turned into 9 months…during my rehab and bored out of my mind I joined the local gym.  That is where I read an article about RFBR….I immediately headed home and went on a waiting list at my local library for a copy. 

I was 77th in the order line and there were 21 copies in the Auckland area (you are a really popular lady Ruth) finally after 3 months my copy was available and I read it in one day.   That was also the week my Physio gave me the clearance to run again.  So my journey has just begun again and today was the first day I have run a full mile.  Ruth thank you for giving me the kick in the butt I needed and reminding me that I need to start at the beginning and take my journey slowly, the last thing I want to do is rush things and end up back at the Physio (acupuncture needles are not my friend). 

I have set myself a realistic goal and will aim to complete a 10km event at the end of October.  When it gets a little hard I just remind myself, “slow and steady” and so far it is working.  Good luck to everyone out there who is also on this crazy journey and just take it slow and steady.

The Grit Doctor says:

Kerry, incredible grit is required to get started again after an injury or big set-back. I know because I have been there too. Slow and steady is the answer. So honoured that your first mile was run for this relay. Good luck and THANK YOU.

Leave a Reply

