The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 25 #rfbr26

8 Aug

Mile 25

Make sure you’ve ordered your Marathon Plan to be delievered to your electronic device of choice tomorrow…and check back in the afternoon to see who’ll be running the final impressive mile of our relay… until then, here we are at mile 25, run by Laura MacGill aka @HaggisMummy in Kintore:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am an enthusiastic starter of projects but an appalling finisher. I’ve flirted with running for almost a decade starting walk/ run programmes and wimping out for one non-reason after another within a few weeks. I have next to no self discipline. 

Reading the Sunday Times over New Year I was intrigued by the article on RFBR. I downloaded and read the book the same day. Ruth was speaking directly to me, describing my can’t be ar**d/ it’s too hard/ have another cake/ glass of wine lifestyle.

It prompted me to pull my runners on and start over. 3 run/ walks a week saw me feeling healthier, stronger, and feeling better mentally. I even gave myself a #rfbr “tattoo” for motivation. (Don’t worry Mum, this one will wash off!)

I managed a 5k without stopping in May and my sights are set on a “don’t stop” 10K next month. 

I take my hat off to the other #rfbr marathon team members. There are some amazing and inspirational battles. I guess I’m flying the flag for the “need a bit of extra grit” contingent. 

I still backslide but not for as long or as much. And RFBR has made the difference as I now see:

– I may NEVER enjoy my runs
– I just have to SUCK THAT GRIT UP
– There are no results without GRIT. Nothing is handed on a plate. 

What RFBR has done for me is remove the gag from my internal Grit Doctor, and once you hear the voice loudly and clearly it’s hard to ignore.

The Grit Doctor says:

Ahh Laura, aka Haggis Mummy, you were one of my first and most vigorous of supporters. That tattoo was genius. Love your honesty and well done for locating your Inner Beaatch *keeps shouting RUN FAT BITCH RUN*

One Response to “The RFBR Marathon Relay – Mile 25 #rfbr26”

  1. Billie Jo Ropiha November 27, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I too want to thank you for changing my life. I hated running but I knew it was going to be the only way to shift the pounds and and make me stronger physically, little did I know mentally as well.

    Anyway I bought your book and ran for the first 4 weeks then gave up. It wasn’t until 6 months later I knew the Grit Doctor was sitting their on my book shelf whispering RFBR. I pulled it out 2 months ago and have been running constantly ever since. And your right, you can run anywhere, even in dodgy places with dogs I run with a Phillips screwdriver.

    I want to thank you for giving me no other excuse than to just move, and the part where you say just “ten minutes” gets me going every time. I hear the Grit Doctor’s voice but most visually I picture your mum, I’m a mum and I found her inspirational heading around Vag Waters, (repeating the mantra “I’m moving be proud”.

    Anyway I can’t wait to do my first 10km run and I know I’ll even be running come Xmas day!
    Love your work
    From New Zealand

Leave a Reply

