Julia’s genius tag-team

16 Jan

Its been ages since I last blogged, but do not take from that that I have not been running – au contraire – I have been sticking to my thrice weekly runs as though my life depended on it. I cannot think of another way to survive this cold snap (that I can afford…obvs a fortnight in the Carribbean would probably do the trick)…

This is a guest blog from my friend Julia, who lives up the road. I ran into her – quite literally – on my way back from a run in the snow. She was just off on her run and I panicked slightly to see her without her gorgeous baby girl (who is usually always strapped to her chest). She brightly told me about her ‘tag-team’ running routine and I thought it was such a brilliant solution for mums with babies and so asked her to write a guest blog, thinking how inspiring for the rest of us. After all, she must be completely shattered, what with a 4 month old and a 5 year old and in this brutal brutal weather. I figured, if she can find the #GRIT to get out there and run, we all can. She says:

“I had been wanting to get back on that running waggon for a while now. My ‘newborn’ baby wasn’t so newborn anymore, at four months old, and the ‘I’ve had a ceasarian’ excuse was wearing pretty thin. I wanted to start running, but how was I going to do it? My husband works late, so running in the evening was out of the question. My baby girl, for all her cuteness, was still waking every two hours through the night, so I did not fancy getting up at the crack of dawn to jog before my husband left to work. I couldn’t afford one of those amazing jogger prams, so jogging with my baby was out of the question. What was I to do?
My solution was to find a friend in a similar boat. We decided to ‘tag-team’. That is, I drop my daughter at my friend’s, while I go for a run, then I mind her little boy while she runs. Sometimes we meet at the park and we tag-team there (she has two dogs to walk, so it kills two birds with one stone). This works well for us, as we know each other’s kids well and trust each other completely with our kids.
I am really enjoying running again, as it is my time, free of kids, husband and daily stresses! I had forgotten one thing though- how painful it is running when you are a breast feeder! I must invest in a good sports bra…”

The Grit Doctor says:
Bravo Julia. Tag-team running is the answer.

4 Responses to “Julia’s genius tag-team”

  1. surfergrl January 16, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    Wow, that is grit. I wear two sports bras and I’m not breastfeeding — get one (or more!) immediately!!

  2. Julia Ahrell Monar January 16, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    Two sports bras are the answer! Thanks surfergrl.

  3. purchadot January 16, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

    Hey grit. Your posts have become very infrequent.

    By the way do I have to go the the shop to be filmed every time I need new trainers? They never give me nice colours.

    Annabel

    • gritdoctor January 16, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

      i have been hopeless on the blog as busy finishing my new book. now that its finished i promise to be more active on here! who is filming you buying trainers?!? and i know, mine are a horrific purple colour!

Leave a Reply

