Go Deirdre!!

8 Mar
Yesterday,

Deirdre Murphy posted on the RFBR facebook page:

  •  

    I am a forty six year old woman who has smoked since the age of 11 and finally gave them up on Aug 22 2012. I was also overweight 15stone 9LB so I decided that by giving up the fags I had to start to exercise or it would give me another excuse to smoke again. I have walked every morning and built up to 5 miles which i do at 6.00am. In my head I always wanted to run but never thought it was possible…. My friend gave me your book last Saturday and today I ran my first five miles….At a snails pace mind without stopping once but was soooo proud…Thank you so much for sharing your inspiration….The no nonsense approach of your book worked wonders..Thanks again for sharing the gift Deirdre

    I thanked Deirdre for sharing her tale and encouraged her to continue.  She wrote back saying her next goal is the Achill half marathon in July…..which got me up off my ass and outside for a run in the rain immediately.  GO DEIRDRE! 

    The Grit Doctor says:

    What are YOU waiting for?

     

10 Responses to “Go Deirdre!!”

  1. Caryn Self-Sullivan March 11, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    A friend recommended your book “26 Reasons To Run”, but it’s not available in the USA iTunes Store, nor is it available from Amazon.com in the USA. I tried switching to the Australian iTunes Store, but then got an error message that my Apple ID was not valid for the Australian Store ;-( Any ideas for how to get a copy of your book in the USA?

    • gritdoctor March 11, 2013 at 10:51 am #

      I have forwarded your message onto my publishers to see if they can help! hopefully will have an answer for you shortly…

      • Caryn Self-Sullivan March 11, 2013 at 11:55 am #

        Thx!

        Sent from my iPhone Caryn Self-Sullivan, PhD cselfsullivan@gmail.com (540) 287-8207

    • gritdoctor March 13, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

      I just heard back from my publishers who said they only have the rights to sell 26 Reasons in UK and the Commonwealth hence can’t buy it in the USA. But you should be able to get it in Australia, sounds like an Apple ID issue? Hope this helps

      • Caryn Self-Sullivan March 13, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

        Thanks for following up. My Apple ID is only valid in the USA store. Once I switched to the Australian Store, I couldn’t do anything and had go get help online to switch back to the USA store. Que lastima! Will check with some of my friends in the UK to see if they can send me a copy.

      • gritdoctor March 22, 2013 at 10:15 am #

        Hi Caryn,
        Do you fancy receiving an early copy of Get Off You Ass And Run which is the American version of Run Fat Bitch Run in exchange for reviewing it for the blog/amazon? If so, please email me your postal address to ruthfield@hotmail.com and I shall get my publishers to send you a copy! Thanks, Ruth

  2. Cheri March 11, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    I absolutely loved Run Fat B!tch Run & would also like to read 26 Rasons to Run. But I, too, am from the US and can’t get it.

    • gritdoctor March 13, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

      Sadly, its only available in the UK and Commonwealth at present…

      • Cheri March 14, 2013 at 2:38 am #

        Thanks. I’ll just wait patiently until it is available in the US! 😀

      • gritdoctor March 22, 2013 at 10:14 am #

        Do you fancy receiving an early copy of Get Off You Ass And Run which is the American version of Run Fat Bitch Run in exchange for reviewing it for the blog/amazon? If so, please email me your postal address to ruthfield@hotmail.com and I shall get my publishers to send you a copy! Thanks, Ruth

Leave a Reply

