A gritty lesson learned

20 May

Sometimes in life, ‘the shelf’ (if non comprende, buy and read Get Your Shit Together) is just ‘TO BE’.

At around 10pm on Thursday when I was in full swing after my book launch, the in-laws phoned to say Rufi had been sick for the 3rd time that night. I ran home, my heart racing. It was that sort of sick bug where he was dry-wretching throughout the night, quite terrifying sounds emanating from his little body, and there was nothing I could do except soothe and sing and cuddle and comfort and offer sips of water and wait patiently until morning when the violence of it all had passed. Thank God, I kept thinking, that Sebastian is unscathed….until he promptly vommed after brekkie. ‘F**********K’!

I couldn’t take them anywhere and expose anyone else to the evil bug, not least of all because no 10 minutes went by without the most disgusting smelling foulness emanating from one of 4 orifices. I was powerless to do anything except surrender. We lay down on the sofa, surrounded by towels and buckets and water and dry crackers and watched telly from dawn till dusk.

Because when it comes to sick toddlers, there is nothing you can actually do to improve the situation other than be there and offer comfort wherever you can until it has passed. There is no merit in getting everybody dressed, in cooking meals, in playing games, in DOING ANYTHING, in tidying up even. ‘The shelf’ was to switch off the phone, the laptop, my brain; and just tune in to their every whimpering need whilst snuggled up under blankets together in our PJs, safe and secure.

The Grit Doctor says:
In cases of extreme illness – the shelf – for very short periods of time – may be THE TELLY.

5 Responses to “A gritty lesson learned”

  1. gwen May 20, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

    Oh god, I feel for you!! I still remember that night a cople of years ago when three of my kids decided to take it in turns vomiting through the night. The smell of puke was well, sickening! Looking forward to Getting My Shit Together. Although when I asked the shop assistant did she have Run Fat Bitch Run, she was highly insulted until I explained, very quickly, it was a book I was after!

  2. Roisin May 20, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Awwwwwww. bless the two wee mites! I have a 2yo and a 3yo ( 15mths apart aka, irish twins!!) and they are generally sick together. Your absolutely right, tv on and snuggle till its over! Hope they are feeling better

  3. Michelle Jones May 21, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    Nasty bug. One 20 year old son hurling ‘coffee grounds’, a term I had not heard before, but which the doctor explains accounts for the vile mixture resembling coca cola with added blood, one husband still going to work with a horrid squitty botty and one 24 year old son beyond coffee grounds, who was just hurling blood last night… sounds positively terrifying but he seems to have recovered today! He was happy to come home so that mummy could keep an eye on him though. It doesn’t matter how old they are, they’re still your ‘babies’!

  4. rachesunny May 26, 2013 at 7:17 am #

    While I would never want my babies to be ill, aren’t ill cuddles just the best? Silver lining and all that. Hope they’re feeling better now xxxx

    • gritdoctor May 29, 2013 at 9:09 am #

      yes you are so right and thanks for asking, they are all better now xx

Leave a Reply

