A circuit to be envied

25 Jun

leanne

Leanne sent me an email this morning and I thought it was very inspiring, not least of all because I have been to Orewa Beach! This is what she said:

“Well, I did it…. I have read RFBR and went for my very first 6km walk yesterday – what an achievement for me. I am always one for listening to others who say, oh you should start at 10 mins then work your way up. After reading your book, it was the cold hard truth – get your arse of the sofa – NOWWWW! I was extremely pleased with myself and have a great circuit to walk being 6kms there and back along Orewa Beach just north of Auckland, NZ. I thoroughly enjoyed it, listening to my favourite music, saying hello to all the other people on the beach and watching the dogs having fun in the water (even though it is winter here). Today I woke up with every part of my body aching, telling me that I had actually done something for the whole of my body, not just my legs or arms. My neck, back, stomach, legs, thighs, butt, arms and calves are all aching but it is a “nice sore”… How can just going for a long walk do that much to me, I never knew. I am having the rest day today as per your 8 week programme and will get back on it tomorrow. Just wanted to say a big thank you for writing RFBR. Best book I have read in such a long time. No more mambee pambeeing for me!!! Thought I would attach a photo of my circuit for you. Have a fantastic day, I know I am!!” Thank you once again. Leanne Sanford

The Grit Doctor would:

Kill for a cicuit like this.

11 Responses to “A circuit to be envied”

  1. Pauline Lay June 26, 2013 at 7:27 am #

    Good on you Leanne – I am from NZ too and got out of bed this morning with a minus 3 degree frost on the ground and ran 5km. The air was so cold on my lungs and my butt never warmed up until I got into the shower when I got home, but I am so glad I did it. I can now sit on the sofa tonight feeling great knowing that tomorrow is a rest day and the dent in the sofa is a tiny bit smaller!! You have to read “Get Your Shit Together”. It is a great companion to RFBR.

    • gritdoctor June 26, 2013 at 8:43 am #

      Well done Pauline! Always best to get the run out of the way first thing, then you get the whole of the rest of the day to GYST and feel uber smug x

    • Leanne June 26, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

      Hi Pauline, that is so good, well done you! Where in NZ are you? I went for my second walk last yesterday afternoon with freezing hands, face and butt but just kept going. What I did find is that I could not stop walking, I did the 6km circuit then told my husband, who was waiting for me, to drive up the road for another km and I just kept walking. It was unbelievable and he could not believe it either. I am just in the middle of reading GYST and have applied for a job in an industry that I have wanted to get into for a long time, I have passed the first interview and am going for the final interview today. If I don’t get it, oh well, but the point is that I am getting off my arse and doing it. I applaud you for running in -3 degrees, that is incredible. Please keep letting me know how you get on. Cheers, Leanne

      • gritdoctor June 28, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

        Hi, let me know how you get on too with the new job and general ‘getting-off-your-ass’ WELL DONE. Ruth x

      • Pauline Lay June 30, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

        We live in Irwell which is not far from Leeston, Canterbury. Small rural area. Well done you and good luck with the job!!

        What I love about running is that smug feeling that it gives me! There is nothing better then running early Sunday morning knowing that my neighbours are still in bed and I am out clocking up k’s. I told a good friend, a non-runner, about this and she said she feels smug after half a bottle of wine! That works too!!

      • gritdoctor July 1, 2013 at 8:41 am #

        she is right! both perfect ways to unwind and relax, the motherlode being a run followed by food and wine x

  2. Jess June 30, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    Hello! I am from NZ too – Auckland. Just read your book Ruth, in two days, borrowed off a friend. Very inspiring and I am on the 2nd day of the plan. Yesterday morning, I did as you said, got my fat ass out of my cosy warm bed at 6am and went for my first walk as per your plan. WOW – I am feeling great. Did 6.6km round circuit, and today I am feeling it! But a great sore nontheless! Thank you for your book RFBR. Love it. I am so motivated to actually stick at something. No more faffing – no excuses… AT ALL. Got my gear ready for tomorrow. Oh, and just this minute brought your book, so that I can have my very own copy, AND brought your new one too Get your sh!t together. Cannot wait till they arrive. So cool to see other Kiwi’s inspired by your books. Love it! Thanks again – Jess Bushill

    • gritdoctor July 1, 2013 at 8:42 am #

      thats great well done!

    • Leanne July 1, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      Good work Jess. Where in Auckland are you. I went for an extremely fast walk today, hurt my calves, butt and got a huge sweat up (mmmm not so lady like but great anyway!). Looking forward to my new playlist and a longer, faster circuit tomorrow. I have never been more motivated in all my life… Should be looking good by Christmas!

  3. Leanne July 10, 2013 at 2:40 am #

    Hi Ruth, thought I would let you know that I actually got that job that I went for an interview for. I am now going to the an International Travel Consultant with Flight Centre. Am very excited and nervous as the same time. Start my training next week. Have now bought myself a pushbike for when I am not walking. Life is awesome!!! Thanks for the push for getting me off my “butt”. Kindest regards, Leanne

    • gritdoctor July 10, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

      that’s wonderful news Leanne – WELL DONE!!!

Leave a Reply

