Rain Running

9 Sep

I made the fatal mistake this morning of delaying my run in anticipation of more favourable weather conditions. I kept looking outside the window and thinking, ‘Oh, this rain will stop, or ease up etc and then I’ll go for my run’. The earliest opportunity to go was just after I dropped the twins off at the childminders – and it wasn’t even raining at all then! – just cold and cloudy. I was weather procrastinating and deluding myself. Instead of improving, the rain just got heavier and heavier and I became more and more inefficient and frustrated, waiting and faffing and not getting shit done as quickly as I ought because I was allowing my day to be dictated by the weather.

By the time I had to go running or I wouldn’t be able to at all (obviously a totally unthinkable prospect?!?), it was literally bucketing it down. Soaked to the skin within a millisecond of leaving the house, I ran and thought about all this, and smiled to myself remembering the ‘weather excuse’ in my own book!!! It is such a classic, and one we all use and fall foul of, forgetting that it rains in this country most of the year and if we use it as an excuse, we are going to miss a hell of a lot of workouts…

On the plus side, running in the rain does feel amazing afterwards, and during in fact, once you get past the awful first 10 minutes or so. The inner bodily warmth generated contrasts against the outer wet and cold and is a pleasant change from sweaty summer runs. Plus the fact that you are the only person doing it so can feel uber smug! Having the woods to myself, alone with my thoughts accompanied by the gentle pleasing patter of the rain. Gritty yes, but so worth it.

The Grit Doctor says:

Never use the weather as an excuse. The rainy season is upon us once more so best make friends with it.

6 Responses to “Rain Running”

  1. Alison Caller September 9, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    I did this yesterday too, though even worse I took my kids blackberry picking instead of going for a run. Anyway, I made it out and bar my glasses steaming up had a lovely run and saw three other people out running too. It also stopped raining which was great.

    What I’m struggling with is what to do now the evenings are darker as my route is potentially unsafe in the dark. I’ve been running once my husband is home and toddler in bed but this is already tricky. I may reluctantly have to go very early or just a road route in the dark. What do you do?

    • gritdoctor September 9, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      it is very tricky. I run at the weekends and then during the day on the days I have childcare. I recommend early morning though, nothing quite like it if you can muster up the grit to go! best of luck..

  2. Alison Caller September 9, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

    Thanks Grit Doctor, I’ll have to haul myself out of bed and just do it. I suppose if they’re only half hourish runs it’s not too awful and I can do an hour or so at the weekend. I’m doing a 5k race in November and never thought I’d like running but I am thoroughly enjoying it.

    • Alison Caller September 10, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      I did it! Got up when I woke up at 645, went out for 25 mins and was back by 730 to sort out things for the school run. I feel very gritty but quite tired. The advantage is I can potentially go to my knitting club tonight. 🙂

      • gritdoctor September 10, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

        well done!!!

  3. jean September 26, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    I have only been running for three weeks or so and have to say the run I enjoyed the most was in the drizzle … I thought…My God…I am enjoying this just for the running! Thanks for the fab book…and thanks to your Mum….I am 61 and quite fit but didn’t think I could run…. now I am up to 20 minutes! But yes…I am looking forward to a real rain run!

    Jean

Leave a Reply

