Back in the Game

4 Dec

Since signing up for Sport Relief 2014, I am well and truly over my motivational funk and firmly back in the game. Totally up for it in fact. Been running three times already this week, trying to capitalise on the slightly milder conditions, forcing myself to really *enjoy* the privilege of running without a beanie and gloves, let alone ice cleats….oh yes, I do have a pair and they will get an airing when the snow sets in. Have had lots of women at the nursery school gates keen to join in the Sport Relief 6 miler in March – the more the merrier – because when we inspire and support each other to train throughout the Winter the easier it is to get off our arses and Just. Do. It.

Plus, another lovely inspiring email landed in my inbox from Alison Caller (who I am now trying to rope in to joining me in March) – a woman who completed her first 5K a few weekends back having been a confirmed ‘off games’ gal since her schooldays. Those days are gone. She wrote:

Hi Grit doctor,
I thought you’d like to know I completed my first 5k last weekend (10 Nov) and have raised about £400 for movember.

I was always the last to be picked for games at school and have never been athletic (the only sport I’ve ever been OK at was swimming). Anyway, I started a c25k in mid June and decided to aim for a race in November.

I am so surprised how much I’m enjoying running – my grit doctor is my A level sociology teacher who brooked no shit from anyone but also let us choose our predicted a level grades (and was right!)

Anyway Mrs K kept me going out determined to do my race. A mate said he’d give me an extra £100 if I tab it in under 38 mins. I didn’t manage this but my pride had me training 3x a week.

I posted on Facebook quite a lot and roped my sister into it (she did the run in 37 mins, I told her that running is supposed to be hard and all about your book).

Also my cousin has joined a running club, my best friend and another two mates have agreed to do the Manchester 10k run with me. They have all said I’ve inspired them as if i can do it then they can!

So thank you, I needed to be reminded hard things are worth working for.

The Grit Doctor says:

Thank YOU Alison, for reminding us all of the same.

2 Responses to “Back in the Game”

  1. Groszewski, Sarah December 4, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    Dear Grit Doctor,

    Reading this has reminded me to tell you how much you’ve changed my life, I’ve been meaning to mention it for a while but have been so busy enjoying myself that time ran away with me.

    Earlier this year I accidentally discovered RFBR and was inspired, I entered a competition to meet you at Little Brown and won. You spoke about tackling one shelf at a time, and that was that, I’ve been blasting those shelves ever since.

    At the time I was approaching 30 and dating, living in a house that was undergoing a refurb, had a job that paid well but didn’t challenge me that much and hobbies had entirely fallen by the wayside. And was about a stone overweight.

    Fast forward a few months, and I’m now 30, engaged, have planned not one but two dream weddings, write for a local website, have just been accepted to write for a local food blog and have applied for a voluntary writing post on a wedding blog. My refurb is complete after applying – and being accepted – to appear on a TV show to get the lounge finished for free. I start a new full time job in January that is far more senior than I ever could have imagined but I took the chance and asked a manager internally if he would consider me for a post he was advertising and instantly he said yes let’s make it happen!

    Oh, did I mention that as a result of all these celebrations I’m now about 2 stone overweight and need to lose 3 inches from my waist by April so my dream wedding dress fits? That’s the next shelf to be tackled. But thanks to you and all I’ve achieved over the past few months I have no doubt I can achieve this too.

    So a big fat THANKS to you for giving me the kick up the ass I needed!!

    Sarah x

    • gritdoctor December 5, 2013 at 9:40 am #

      this is just AMAZING. you brilliant brilliant woman. I only wish my next book were out now as it will help with the weightloss but im afraid its wont be out for ages…can I repost your comment as a blog as its just so very inspiring and will help others gyst for crimbo? x

Leave a Reply

