Exercise your Fear

13 Dec

Just back from a *lovely* running interview in Hyde Park with @lucyWaterlow. It must be said, she really looks the part, with that lean ripping bod of all ‘proper’ runners. Turns out her sister is actually a running pro and Lucy herself has run a marathon in 3 hours 6 minutes. This helps explain my desperate panting as I tried to speak and keep up with her ‘jogging’ pace. Needless to say, I have no idea what I actually said, so focussed was I on not dying of a heart attack mid interview and shaming myself…all in aid of the re-launch of Run Fat Bitch Run in January. You can pre-order a copy now on Amazon! http://www.amazon.co.uk/Run-Fat-Bitch-Ruth-Field/dp/0751553980/ref=tmm_pap_title_o?ie=UTF8&qid=1386936921&56=1-1

Anyway I must be getting to an age or stage in life when I need to take better care of my joints as I am finding that I get a lot more pain in one knee after long runs and I’m sure I could be doing more to strengthen it and indeed the rest of my body so I can improve my running capacity. Plus, something has to be done about this spare tyre, small yes, but very much there and I reckon some core strength, a bit of yoga or Pilates (which I have not yet tried) might have it back to a rippling 6 pack in no time. *ahem* Ruth you never had a six pack, like, EVER *dares to dream*

Sooooo, I am going to branch out and start trying new things. One of the perks of having written Run Fat Bitch Run is always being invited to try out new exercise classes and kit and stuff: rock climbing, Tough Mudders – all sorts, and I am determined to be a YES to these invitations more often. In the spirit of trying new things, I am toying with the idea of doing a triathlon in July (I can barely swim), so this would be a massive challenge for me. I figure the swimming and cycling parts will be kinder to my knees (lets ignore the half marathon run tagged onto the end for the time being). I was invited to enter it by a wonderful fitness fiend of a pal (@MillieTamworth) who is about half my age and eats triathlons for breakfast – she tells me it is a half Iron Man. I have no idea what this means, but it sounds positively death defying. Why I am even thinking about doing it? Because it both excites and terrifies me and that combination of emotions makes me feel most alive.

To temper this wave of triathlon derangement, I want to find something a bit more ZEN. I need look no further than great friend and yogi guru Kat Farrants, who has created the brilliant http://www.movementformodernlife.com which brings all the power of yoga teaching to wherever you are. Yoga is not a natural fit for me at all, but Kat had me guinea pig a session for one of her online videos and the whole experience was most revealing. It was so much more cardio/exhausting than I thought it would be, but it was also very confronting. I felt a bit weepy afterwards – possibly because you were so shit at it Ruth? – but I do love the idea of being able to do it on my own at home, at my own pace, and at queer times, so no-one can see how inflexible I am and I can cry if I want to. Plus there is a Christmas special offer on! http://www.movementformodernlife.com/xmas-offer. I’m in.

The Grit Doctor Says:

Always run towards what you fear.

4 Responses to “Exercise your Fear”

  1. Camilla Tamworth December 13, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    love it!!!

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

  2. Kat Farrants December 13, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    You were definitely not shit, Ruth – just up for the challenge, which I LOVE! Always better to run toward the fear and boy, did you run towards the yoga challenge. Your videos will be up on movementformodernlife.com soon!! Katx

  3. Jo December 14, 2013 at 7:56 am #

    Go for it! I learnt to swim to do a tri and it was the best thing!

  4. Danny Lake December 14, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    The bigger the challenge the better! Don’t be afraid to dream big!

Leave a Reply

