On the First Day of Gritmas…

20 Dec

…..My true love said to me – let’s not eat turkey.

Bravo to that I say. Its our first Christmas in our own home and its just wonderful to be able to make decisions about this stuff. I have never enjoyed eating turkey, even when cooked to perfection I still find it dry and tasteless demanding a billion accoutrements to make it palatable. What a waste of time. I want to eat meat that sings on its own and doesn’t require that I spend hours slaving over sausage and apricot stuffing or whatever else required to disguise its shortcomings…so we are having rib of beef and that’s that. While I am at it, there will be no brussel sprouts or Christmas pudding here either. Why? Because I think they are revolting.

Gritmas Tip:

Unless you are a genuine turkey fan, consider spending the ridiculous sum of money compulsory on such occasions on a better bird (chicken? goose?)…or indeed, whatever floats your boat. Don’t be bound by tradition for its own sake, adopt those you like, bin the ones you don’t, and best of all, create some of your own.

5 Responses to “On the First Day of Gritmas…”

  1. Rachel Allen December 20, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Hear hear!! We’re having rib of beef too for the same reason. And I bet we have the best Christmas dinners this year!! Go girl!
    PS also red wine goes better with beef than Turkey anyway xx

  2. vickyinglis December 20, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

    Who is the person that likes Xmas pudding? It’s stodgy, heavy and greasy. And then they pour sickly sweet brandy sauce over it, eugh. I’m all for ditching “traditions” and starting my own.

  3. Michelle December 21, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    I totally agree. After a year necessitating a huge amount of grit I went for a bottle of Jo Malone after thinking ‘b******s to this I deserve it’. Just a small bottle but a little pat on the back is surely a good thing occasionally.

    • Michelle December 21, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

      And this wan meant be in the second day of Christmas. I’ll be spritzing not eating 🙂

  4. destinyangel444 December 21, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    My true love and I never touch turkey, cold or warm. For us, it will be either nut roast or some delicious fish dish cooked by my other half, who is a whizz in the kitchen. And it will be just us two!

Leave a Reply

