The 8th Day of Gritmas

27 Dec

…..and my family are all safely departed (not from this earth you understand, just from my house) and my energy levels have finally hit a wall. But, after my tenth cup of tea, I just calmly began clearing up all the Christmas crap and, what began this morning as general rubbish clearing/tidying/cleaning surfaces morphed into nothing short of a #gystful frenzy of activity, which saw me filing my tax and VAT returns, emptying and organising drawers rammed so full of random bits of paper they required a crowbar to open….toy culling, bagging up clothes etc – a total life spring clean – in just shy of 8 hours, topped off with a really fast 5k run on the treadmill (too dangerous to run outdoors today in *gale force winds*).

Yes, I am feeling very pleased with myself, light as a feather in fact (in the metaphorical sense because of all the shit I got done – its going to take a lot more than one fast 5k run to deal with the excessive consumption of the past couple of weeks). But no matter, putting one foot in front of the other is all we ever really need to do to get the job done.

Gritmas Tip:

A sober day at this stage of Gritmas is nothing short of a revelation. A simple clearing of the decks (cupboards, surfaces, the shit under the stairs) is every bit as invigorating as that Boxing Day *twinkle*.

One Response to “The 8th Day of Gritmas”

  1. Marly December 27, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

    Caffeine consumption at its most productive.

Leave a Reply

