12th Day Of Gritmas

31 Dec

Happy New Years Eve to you all! I hope whatever it is you have planned for tonight is AWESOME, that you have a year behind you worth celebrating, and a year ahead that inspires you. If not, I’ll hazard a guess its because of one of the following or a combination of the two:

1.You are 4 stone heavier than before Christmas, having become addicted to panettone bread and butter pudding and are feeling depressed that the LBD you had planned to wear tonight now only covers the surface area of one thigh…

2.You feel guilty about not having done all the things you ‘resolved’ to do last year like: meet ‘the one’; get fit; change career; redecorate the spare room; learn Italian; take a cookery course – yaddayaddayadda…

I can’t cure you overnight, but by taking a large dose of medicinal *GRIT* on a daily basis, I can promise you that you won’t be in the same boat this time next year. It is in making and meeting commitments every day that change becomes possible. Make a promise today to move more by starting step 1 of the programme in Run Fat Bitch Run. And actually do it. No matter how many excuses you have ringing in your head right now telling you that you are too old, too fat, too out of shape, too shit at sports, I promise you that YOU TOO. CAN. DO. THIS. Because all it involves is getting up off the sofa, out the front door and walking non stop for 45 minutes. And your work for today is done.

As for all that stuff you didn’t achieve in 2013? Resolve never EVER to make a new years resolution again. Just be yourself, your best self, each day by making it count. How? Same way as with running, one foot in front of the other for everything every day: taking the small action steps necessary to get stuff done. Because nothing ever changes when you are whingeing from the couch about how shit everything is. The good stuff begins to happen when you get onto the court.

Gritmas Tip:
You have to throw yourself into the thick of the game to have a chance of winning it. So shut up whining and get busy doing.

2 Responses to “12th Day Of Gritmas”

  1. Odelle December 31, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    Hi Grit Doctor I love these emails everyday. Just when I’m starting to feel an excuse forming inside me I notice I have an email in from you. I read it and voila, I start to feel better again. No more bullshit. I tell myself to shut up and get on with it. Thank you for all the brilliant advice and arse kicking sentiments. (I read your Get Your Shit Together this year and I’ve been actively following your advice since I started on the 1st page). I return to it anytime I need to stop being a mediocre bitch instead of a highly productive organised bitch. I wish you and your family health and happiness for 2014. Thank you Odelle

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • gritdoctor January 7, 2014 at 11:39 am #

      Thanks for this lovely email Odelle and I wish you and your family the same for 2014! Best, Ruth

Leave a Reply

