January Inspiration

14 Jan

I received this lovely message via the facebook Run Fat Bitch Run page and was very touched by it. I am reposting it here in the hope it will move and inspire others too into taking those first steps outside running. Its the perfect day for it London!

Hi Ruth,

Just wanted to privately say that your book really made me get out there and run. Without meaning to be a running bore, it has changed my life. I’m only 21 and was a bit overweight but very unfit. I really struggled but with the help of a friend, we have run a half marathon together. I was diagnosed with depression and put on anti-depressants, but running has helped with it an unbelievable amount. When I’m feeling stressed or tense I know a run is the best solution – you can’t run when you’re crying! I’ve lost 2stone (more importantly have a healthy BMI and toned legs!) and now feel totally relaxed in my body. Even just running with my 39year old running partner has been SO helpful. We’ve both found that running is a far better therapy session than any sofa and friends have started running just so they can join in our chats! I’ve also dropped To Do lists and replaced them with tables. Really just wanted to say thank you. I know the running is down to me, but your words kicked me out the door. Please keep running and writing.

The Grit Doctor says:

How I wish I was running and #gysting at 21! You have totally set yourself up for life girl. Well bloody done *proud humbled face*

One Response to “January Inspiration”

  1. Elizabeth Coveney January 15, 2014 at 8:54 pm #

    Thank you for sharing this and very well done to the contributor, may you go from strength to strength.

Leave a Reply

