‘Cut The Crap’ Grit Clinic

2 Feb

Q: Hello Grit Doctor.  I will be refraining from… sandwiches at lunchtime. Hello powdered packet soup.  Is this a good idea?

A: *Suspecting* powdered packet soup to be firmly under the crappy foods umbrella, I did a quick google search, which revealed the ingredients list of a bog standard packet of mixed vegetable soup to be:-

1.potato starch

2.salt

3.sugar

4.vegetable oil

5.maltodextrin

6.dried glucose syrup

7.yeast extract

8.vegetables (16%) onion potatoe red pepper leek carrot green pepper

9.thickener (guar gum)

10.anti caking agent (silicon dioxide)

11.lactose

12.milk protein

13.flavour enhancer

14.disodium 5′ ribonucleotides

15.garlic powder

16.celery concentrate

17.spice

18.parsley

19.carrot concentrate

20.leek concentrate

21.onion juice

A foodstuff which calls itself soup yet comes powdered in a packet, requiring boiling water to bring it to life, should of itself ring alarm bells.

That it has the audacity to call itself a vegetable soup, while containing no more than 16% vegetables is misleading at best, downright dishonest at worst, because that soup is predominantly made up of CRAP (84% to be precise) to pad it out, to thicken it up and to give it flavour.

The Grit Doctor recommends

Making a homemade vegetable soup or any packed lunch you’ve made at home from scratch and bringing it in every day.  100% real food with no added fake crappy sugars or man made chemicals. 

peaandspinach

Remember that there are no short cuts to good health and a balanced diet.  It necessarily involves work, and be thankful that it does.  Because when you order a bumper packet of powdered soup online, you are not only eating crap, but behaving in a crap-generating manner. Those calories you burn getting outdoors and up the road to buy the vegetables, carrying them home, chopping them up in the kitchen, sweating an onion (while crying profusely mourning the crappy eating habits you’ve now spurned), stirring the soup, blitzing it, and freezing portions, are all contributing to that increase in activity, that fundamental shift away from sedentary living that a crap free lifestyle demands.

The Grit Doctor says

If the list of ingredients reads more NASA experiment than foodstuff, its a rubber stamp guarantee that said foodstuff is crap.  A homemade sandwich would be a far better, healthier and tastier choice for lunch.

8 Responses to “‘Cut The Crap’ Grit Clinic”

  1. bridgette forrester February 2, 2015 at 3:32 pm #

    That used to be me

    Bridgette

    >

  2. notbatty February 2, 2015 at 11:15 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more! Homemade soup is easy peasy, there are a billion recipes on the Internet – get yourself a thermos then you don’t even have to nuke it. You could even make homemade bread to go with your homemade soup … overkill, possibly.

    • gritdoctor February 11, 2015 at 1:46 pm #

      no such thing as overkill when it comes to homemade food in my book!

  3. revealeit February 6, 2015 at 4:03 am #

    Hello Grid Doctor. Here I am all the way in Australia. I found your books last night when I could not sleep, (a sadly regular thing for me lately). I have been a runner for lots of years, but the past few years have been a bit stressful and I have lapsed, not completely, but enough to feel my fat bitch come out every day. Your book made so much SENSE to me!! I lived it all on my own about 7 years ago when I woke up one day miserable with the state I found myself in and something overwhelmed me and I was unstoppable. I lost one third of my body weight and every day was like flying, I had arrived!! Fast forward to today where the kilos are slowly piling back on as I only feel like running once or twice a week, and even then, slow down and walk a lot, and not sure why……….I feel shitty bitchy and disappointed in myself as I had come so far. I have changed a lot of things about my life since then, many positive, but some things in life have gotten in the way and I am miserable about it. I know now I need to find my inner bitch and sort it out, my mind is ready to go, but I am exhausted because I have not had a good night sleep for months, I hate myself for where I am and I am having soooooo much trouble getting my shit together!! almost 40 degrees Celsius here today too!! How can I get some sleep?? Do you have any advice for a stupid shitty dumb arse bitch who has lost her big fat way??

    • gritdoctor February 11, 2015 at 1:45 pm #

      Lisa thanks for this message which I will answer on the blog soon! In the meantime, don’t be too hard on yourself. Big gritty hugs, Ruth

    • rebeccarunning February 17, 2015 at 12:03 am #

      Hi Revealeit, I live in Australia too. I got a bit bored of running by myself so I joined a group of women who run. We are all shapes and vintages. It’s more fun and running together stops you from slowing down or stopping as soon as you get to a hill or whatever. Maybe there’s something like that in your town?

      My tips for sleeping are: always go to bed at the same time, don’t drink alcohol, make sure it’s dark, focus on your breathing and come back to that whenever your mind wanders. Works for me.

      PS, I take salad for lunch. Doesn’t involve any advance preparation – just moving things from fridge to plastic box.

      • gritdoctor March 24, 2015 at 1:25 pm #

        great tip for the lunch box ta for that!

Leave a Reply

