Bouge tes fesses, poulette! aka RFBR

24 Mar
Hello,I’m reading your book :”run, fat bitch, run!”
In French translation “bouge tes fesses, poulette!” And I love it!(You may apologize for my approximate English)I really like your book because when I’m reading it, I feel more motivated to do things!
I think it a lots of personal thinking to get new motivations..Anyway I didn’t read it because I wanted to start running. I read it because the first pages sounds like a novel, like a story, maybe the story of my life that I could create with this book.

Now I’ve nearly read everything and I would like start running

-But- wink emoticon

When you told about : the best place to run, you said it should be an hour and half walk and it’s better if it’s on a “flat road” (I mean, not on a hill)
-But-
where I live in the middle of France, a countryside place, is full of hills! And I don’t have lots of choice for the way to take!

I like walking on a way but it’s 12km walk and nearly two and half hour!
One mounted is very hard and I have to walk there very slower!

What should I do? Do you thing, I can try to run there?

I think maybe, running is easier for people who live in city places or suburb because they can do a loop.. On a “flat road”.

I don’t know if you understand everything kiki emoticon
And I hope you will answer my message.

In the meantime I’ll keep walking smile emoticon

It better than nothing! smile emoticon

A: Walking is absolutely brilliant and the countryside plus hills, infinitely preferable to running in our urban cityscapes.  I escape to the woods for my runs, but I long for the wild countryside, specifically the French countryside where Run Fat Bitch Run was written: the valleys and hills of Castlenau Montratier were my husband’s training ground (pictured).

Growing twins and writing RFBR in Castlenau Montratier

Growing twins and writing RFBR in Castlenau Montratier

So a hilly circuit is fantastic, walking it first as you are to get really fit and strong, much more so than a flat surface would have you, so by the time you start to run as the programme sets out, you will be in great physical shape.  Just do everything as the 6 steps and the 8 week programme sets out, but even more slowly, particularly slowing right down at the start of those hills, and leaning into them.  Once you are able to jog 40 minutes of that circuit *comfortably* (wink emoticon) you can start picking and choosing which hills to sprint up.  Believe me, that time will come.

Can you shorten your hilly countryside 12k walk?  If not, there is no reason why you can’t train yourself to run the first 5 km of it in accordance with the book and walk the rest.  If you so wish, you can keep on increasing your running distance by small increments until you are running the full 12k; just give yourself plenty of time, lots of rest days and listen to your body.  Make sure you are well hydrated – every time – before you set off.

The Grit Doctor says:
How I wish my French were half as good as your English.  Take extra motivation from the fact that you are running the story of my life and my book right where you are.
4 Responses to “Bouge tes fesses, poulette! aka RFBR”

  1. Anas Le Gall March 24, 2015 at 12:08 pm #

    Hi,

    Thank you so much for that! It gives me more motivation!

    I come from “Auvergne”, such a nice place to walk (and run) in France! Have a look on google image 😉

    > The Grit Doctor says: > How I wish my French were half as good as your English. Take extra motivation from the fact that you are running the story of my life and my book right where you are.

    Thank you very very much 🙂

    Keep smiling, Anaïs

    Le 24 mars 2015 à 12:31, The Grit Doctor a écrit :

    > >

    • gritdoctor March 24, 2015 at 1:23 pm #

      Its beautiful where you are! Are you the lady that wrote in because I couldn’t find your original message on facebook to let you know I’d finally answered your question. I do hope its you. lol x

    • gritdoctor March 24, 2015 at 1:26 pm #

      Hi, are you the lady who wrote in with the question? As I couldn’t find your original message on facebook to let you know id got round to answering your question at long last! I do hope it was you?! Auvergne is beautiful lolx

  2. Michèle April 6, 2015 at 2:59 pm #

    Hello , thank you to give your experiens ! I com from Alsace, and i have buy your book for 2 days ago . It is great and full of humour. I have fond the coach Niaque and she must bee always at my side.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

