Egg-tastic

23 Mar

I don’t know about you but I’m already sick of eggs.  Like, proper sick.  The kids too – one of them has sworn off the brown stuff completely, insisting he doesn’t want any chocolate over Easter, he’d rather have wotsits (not that this is in any way a healthier option of course), but its interesting how quickly we’ve reached chocolate saturation point in our house, and it’s not even Easter weekend yet.

15131

This picture of me – with a look of intense concentration befitting of a Doctor of Grit – was taken last Easter Sunday at Golant, near Fowey in Cornwall.   I am trying to catch an egg being hurled towards me at breakneck speed from a considerable distance, by my husband Olly.  My sister-in-law entered my husband and I for this egg throwing contest at the last minute towards the end of a wonderful day of Easter fun and frolics in the village.  I was delighted to take part, but absolutely gutted when we were narrowly beaten, by just a yard or two.

This year I will be better prepared:

  1. Make sure we throw last, because its actually much easier when you know precisely what distance it is you have to beat.  This is what last year’s winners did, and it paid off.
  2. If last year’s winners make a fuss about point 1. make a bigger fuss.
  3. No jewellery.
  4. Much less tight jeans, and more appropriate/sporty attire overall.  Definitely not heels.
  5. Considerably less alcohol consumption beforehand.
  6. Considerably less chocolate consumption beforehand.
  7. Practise in the garden the day before.  Shout at Olly to focus.

The Grit Doctor says

Loser.

 

 

6 Responses to “Egg-tastic”

  1. Clare Lucid - Unislim Leader! March 23, 2016 at 11:28 am #

    Ruth didn’t anyone ever tell you it’s the taking part that counts!!

    • gritdoctor March 23, 2016 at 11:29 am #

      They did, and I never listened!!! Happy Easter Clare

  2. Camille Woolcock March 25, 2016 at 12:38 pm #

    Were the eggs hard boiled? I can’t see egg on anyone’s face.

    • gritdoctor March 30, 2016 at 9:41 am #

      Haha no, they were very much raw. My husband dropped the egg and there were broken eggs all over the place!

  3. Chris March 29, 2016 at 9:46 am #

    Looks like you had a great time, Ruth. Did any of the eggs smashed onto the ground?

    Btw, I can’t seem to find your email contact on your blog. Or am I looking at the wrong places?

Leave a Reply

