Mid-life Crisis…

31 Jan

martha

…Mine is manifesting itself in some very expensive dental work called Invisalign.  I’d just been to the orthodontist to have my first ‘tray’ fitted, and, having thought it was going to be an invisible barely-there gum shield, I was shocked by the reality: my teeth shaved off with sandpaper and I felt as though I was housing a brick in my mouth.  I could barely talk, and looked like a salivating Jaws from James Bond.  Oh yes, and did I mention that I was in agony?!  In any other situation, I’d have chucked the tray in the bin and given up, BUT THE COST IS ASTRONOMIC, so I simply had to go through with it.  Plus, I told myself 10 months of hell is a small price to pay to get my old top noshers back.  I’m not sure why, but my teeth seem to have moved since having kids and continue to move in the wrong direction, hence getting the treatment.

Anyhoo, as luck would have it, on my way home from the appointment, I bumped into Martha, a lovely lady whose daughter goes to the same school as my kids.  I made some apology for being incomprehensible, to which she gently said she hadn’t noticed the brace, that I was talking quite normally and that she couldn’t see saliva dribbling down my chin (she is kind, Martha).  She empathized with my pain, and then, offered to try and alleviate it through craniosacral therapy.  I was totally thrown by her lovely offer and, having never heard of it, did what any sensible person would do: whipped out my diary and booked myself in for a session asap. I like trying out new things and I also figured, what harm can it do?

A few days later after school drop off, I went to see Martha in her practice, where first she took a detailed medical history and then asked me to lie down. The pain in my mouth had pretty much gone but there was still tightness in my jaw.  As any mum with young kids will know, to have a legitimate excuse to lie down in a warm comfortable setting at 9.30am – yes please, I was already in heaven.  Martha said that sometimes people fall asleep during the session and not to worry about that.  We talked a little bit early on during the session, and Martha was extremely gentle, reassuring and professional at all times.  I think the session lasted for about 45 minutes.  She started at the back of my head and I’ve no idea what she was doing, but apparently she was just holding my head and allowing my body to breathe again – its own ‘life force’ or ‘life breath’ I think she called it.  It was as if she was listening to the expressions of my body through her gentle hands. Expressions that I was able to hear for the first time.  Within minutes, I felt these wonderful sensations throughout my body, waves and waves of them, so unfamiliar, like small currents of electricity flowing through me.  Afterwards, I felt so relaxed, it was as if I’d had a full body massage.  My sore jaw (which had been tight and clenched since the braces) had disappeared.

Far more pronounced though than anything to do with my teeth, was how much better I felt all round after the treatment: freer, lighter, less stressed, and generally more alive.  I went straight to my writing desk and spent the most productive day I’ve had in two years.  And it was easy!  I’ve had another session since, and that too provoked the same response.  It’s hard to pin down how or why this works, but I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone who is tired, stressed anxious or tense, and I’ll be booking myself in for another session soon, particularly as my dissertation deadline is looming.

A bit about Martha

Martha Egger R.C.S.T., B.C.S.T. is a qualified nurse and a UK registered Craniosacral Therapist. She has many years of experience caring for people with chronic health problems in hospital and home environments.

“My passion is it to support you in your healing and recovery process, and to help you re-connect with your true essence.”

Martha Egger works in North London. Contact: 07722 403863

Email: info@cranio-martha.at

Website: www.cranio-martha.at

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/craniosacraltherapymartha/

http://www.therapy-directory.org.uk/therapists/martha-egger

Twitter handle: @BeingAlchemist

A bit about Craniosacral Therapy

(CST) is a gentle, sensitive touch treatment method that helps to release tension and disturbances deep within the body, thereby helping resolve illness, pain and dysfunction. Major areas of release are the brain, spinal cord, skull, cerebrospinal fluid and surrounding membranes. This enhances central nervous system function and performance allowing the body to relax and self-correct. CST helps to strengthen the body’s natural healing processes and helps correct brain to body connection, immune function and overall health. It is a therapy that has been gradually developed over the past 10 decades, by osteopaths, but is now taught to many types of health care professionals worldwide.

Leave a Reply

